

SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM INDEPENDENT MONITORING COMMITTEE

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 24, 2018

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee was held on January 24, 2018, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Kathleen Sutherland called the meeting to order at 4:07 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

A quorum was established.

Members in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Representative</u>
District 1	Julie Hutcheson	Doug Muirhead
District 2	Kathleen Sutherland	-
District 3	Hon. Tara Martin-Milius	
District 4	Hon. Joe Head*	
District 5	Bill Hoeft	Eileen McLaughlin
District 6	Hon. Dan McCorquodale	
District 7	Tess Byler	Kit Gordon

Members not in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>	
District 3	Hon. Carmen Montano	
District 4	Debra Cauble	
District 6	Hon, Patrick S, Kwok	

^{*}Committee Member arrived as indicated below.

Hon. Joe Head arrived at 4:12 p.m.

Board member in attendance was: Director Richard P. Santos, Board Alternate.

Staff members in attendance were: Emmanuel Aryee, Ricardo Barajas, Wade Blackard, Rechelle Blank, Glenna Brambill, Russell Chen, Jessica Collins, Jerry De La Piedra, Vanessa De La Piera, Stephen Ferranti, Vincent Gin, Chad Grande, Saeid Hosseini, Christine Mateo, Anthony Mendiola, Karl Neuman, Ngoc Nguyen, Katherine Oven, Melanie Richardson, Afshin Rouhani, Kirsten Struve, Paul Thomas, Sue Tippets, Doug Titus, Sherilyn Tran, Liang Xu and Kristen Yasukawa,

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no one present who wished to speak.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES – DECEMBER 6, 2017, MEETING

It was moved by Mr. Doug Muirhead and seconded by Mr. Bill Hoeft, and by majority vote carried to approve the minutes of the December 6, 2017, Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee meeting as presented. Hon. Tara Martin-Milius abstained.

5. OUTCOME OF SUBCOMMITTEE MEETINGS

A. SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS TO REPORT OUT ON KEY AREAS OF DISCUSSION AND RECOMMENDATIONS

Priority A Chair; Ms. Eileen McLaughlin reviewed the key areas of discussion and recommendations.

Mr. Doug Muirhead, Mr. Bill Hoeft, Chair Sutherland, Ms. Tess Byler had questions.

Ms. Sherilyn Tran was available to answer questions.

<u>Priority B Chair;</u> Ms. Tess Byler reviewed the key areas of discussion and recommendations.

Mr. Doug Muirhead, Mr. Bill Hoeft, Chair Sutherland, Ms. Tess Byler and Hon. Dan McCorquodale had guestions.

<u>Priority C Chair;</u> Ms. Eileen McLaughlin reviewed the key areas of discussion and recommendations.

Ms. Kit Gordon. Mr. Bill Hoeft, Mr. Doug Muirhead, Chair Sutherland and Hon. Dan McCorquodale had questions.

Ms. Katherine Oven, Mr. Ngoc Nguyen and Mr. Liang Xu were available to answer questions.

<u>Priority D Chair:</u> Mr. Doug Muirhead reviewed the key areas of discussion and recommendations.

Chair Sutherland, Hon. Dan McCorquodale Ms. Kit Gordon had questions.

Ms. Jessica Collins, Mr. Afshin Rouhani, Mr. Vincent Gin and Ms. Sue Tippets were available to answer questions.

Priority E Chair; Ms. Julie Hutcheson reviewed the key areas of discussion and recommendations.

Mr. Doug Muirhead and Ms. Eileen McLaughlin had questions.

<u>Priority Other Chair;</u> Hon. Joe Head reviewed the key areas of discussion and recommendations.

Mr. Doug Muirhead had questions.

Mr. Afshin Rouhani was available to answer questions.

All updates will be made by the IMC Chair and Subcommittee Chairs at the January 31, 2018, report drafting meeting.

6. NEXT STEPS

A. Jan. 31 IMC Report Drafting Meeting

Ms. Jessica Collins reviewed the process for subject meeting.

B. FEB. 14 FULL-COMMITTEE MEETING RPEPORT

- i. APPROVE FINAL IMC REPORT
- ii. PRESENTATION BY OSA ON MEASURE Q
- C. FEB. 27 IMC CHAIR PRESENT FINAL IMC REPORT TO BOARD
- D. REMAINING SCW CHANGE CONTROL PROCESS SCHEDULE OVERVIEW

Ms. Jessica Collins reviewed the materials for the next steps.

The next full committee meeting is February 14, 2018.

The first meeting in March staff will reply to IMC's recommendations prior to the Board finalizing the adoption of the budget.

This information is then incorporated into the 5-year Plan, if approved by the Board. The 5-year Plan goes to the Board in June or July.

7. REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF ACTION ITEMS

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there was no action items for consideration.

8. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Kathleen Sutherland adjourned the meeting at 6:11 p.m.

Glenna Brambill
Board Committee Liaison
Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 2-14-17