

SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION MEETING

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 25, 2017 12:00 PM

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A rescheduled meeting of the Santa Clara Valley Water Commission was held on October 25, 2017, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom, located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto called the meeting to order at 12:04 p.m.

Members in attendance were:

Municipality	Representative	Alternate
City of Campbell City of Cupertino	Hon, Steven Scharf	Hon. Susan M. Landry
City of Gilroy		Hon. Roland Velasco
Town of Los Gatos	Hon. Barbara Spector	
Town of Monte Sereno	Hon. Evert Wolsheimer	
City of Mountain View	Hon. Lisa Matichak	
City of San José	Hon. Lan Diep*	Kerrie Romanow
City of Santa Clara	Hon. Debi Davis	
City of Saratoga	Hon. Rishi Kumar*	
City of Sunnyvale	Hon. Nancy Smith*	
County of Santa Clara	Hon. Mike Wasserman	
Santa Clara Open Space	Hon. Mike Flaugher	
Authority	-	
Midpeninsula Regional Open	Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto	
Space District		

Members not in attendance were:

Municipality City of Campbell	Representative Hon. Jeffrey Cristina	Alternate
City of Cupertino	non. Jenney Chistina	Hon. Darcy Paul
City of Gilroy	Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz	
City of Los Altos	Hon. Lynette Lee Eng	Hon. Mary Prochnow
Town of Los Altos Hills	Hon. Courtenay Corrigan	
Town of Los Gatos		Hon. Steve Leonardis
City of Milpitas	Hon. Garry Barbadillo	
Town of Monte Sereno		Hon. Burton Craig
City of Morgan Hill	Hon. Rich Constantine	Hon. Larry Carr
City of Mountain View		Hon. Lenny Siegel
City of Palo Alto	Hon. Adrian Fine	Hon. Tom DuBois
City of Santa Clara		Hon. Patrick Kolstad
City of Saratoga		Hon. Howard Miller
City of Sunnyvale		Hon. Larry Klein
County of Santa Clara		Hon. Cindy Chavez
Santa Clara Open Space Authority		Hon. Kalvin Gill
Midpeninsula Regional Open		Hon. Jed Cyr
Space District		-

*Commission Member arrived as noted.

Board members in attendance were: Directors Richard P. Santos and John L. Varela, Board Representatives.

Staff members in attendance were: Hossein Ashktorab, Glenna Brambill, Norma Camacho, Usha Chatwani, Nina Hawk, Cindy Kao, Katherine Oven, Paul Randhawa, and Leslie Orta.

2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON AGENDA

There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Hon. Mike Wasserman, seconded by Hon. Debi Davis, and by majority vote, to approve the July 26, 2017, Santa Clara Valley Water Commission meeting minutes as presented with note to correct Hon. Steve Scharf's spelling. Hon. Barbara Proctor abstained.

*Hon. Lan Diep arrived at 12:12 p.m., Hon. Nancy Smith arrived at 12:14 p.m. and Hon. Rishi Kumar arrived at 12:16 p.m.

4. ACTION ITEMS

4.1 UPDATE ON PLANNING FOR POTABLE AND NON-POTABLE WATER REUSE

Mr. Hossein Ashktorab and Ms. Katherine Oven reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item. Ms. Kerrie Romanow of the City of San José was available to answer questions.

Hon. Susan Landry, Hon. Nancy Smith and Hon. Lisa Matichak spoke on the many issues surrounding potable and non-potable water reuses.

Commission action:

It was moved by Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto, seconded by Hon. Nancy Smith, and unanimously carried to approve the Commission's recommendation to encourage the Board to target and concentrate its education and outreach on youth regarding potable and non-potable water reuse efforts.

4.2 JOINT USE TRAILS ON DISTRICT PROPERTY: STATUS AND UPDATES

Ms. Usha Chatwani reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Hon. Rishi Kumar left at 1:00 p.m. and did not return. Hon. Roland Velasco left at 1:02 p.m. and did not return.

Hon. Susan Landry, Hon. Steven Scharf, Hon. Lisa Matichak, Hon. Mike Wasserman Hon. Mike Flaugher and Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto spoke on the safety, maintenance and concerns of 24/7 trails.

No action was taken.

4.3 DISCUSS UPDATE ON CALIFORNIA WATERFIX

Ms. Cindy Kao reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item with handouts of the Board of Directors' guiding principles and resolution. Director John Varela and Ms. Norma Camacho also gave further background on the WaterFix.

Hon. Susan Landry, Hon. Steven Scharf, Hon. Mike Flaugher Hon. Lisa Matichak, Hon. Barbara Spector and Hon. Lan Diep spoke on the concerns of water supply, the Delta and short/long term impacts of the WaterFix.

No action was taken.

4.4. REVIEW SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION WORK PLAN, THE OUTCOMES OF BOARD ACTION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS AND THE COMMISSION'S NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto and Ms. Glenna Brambill reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item with a handout of the Board's Performance Monitoring and Board Policy Planning Calendars.

No action was taken.

Hon. Mike Wasserman left at 1:45 p.m. and did not return.

5. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS TO THE BOARD

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there was one item for Board consideration.

Agenda Item 4.1:

The Commission approved to encourage that the Board target and concentrate its education and outreach on youth regarding potable and non-potable water reuse efforts.

6. **REPORTS**

6.1 Director's Report

Director John Varela reported on:

- Board Action
- Water Supply
- Flood Protection
- Community Outreach

6.2 Manager's Report

Ms. Norma Camacho reported on:

- Winter emergency Operations and Preparedness Workshop on October 26, 2017
- Introduced new Water Utility Enterprise Chief of Operations, Ms. Nina Hawk

6.3 Commission Member Reports

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto reported on:

- Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District just opened Mount Umunhum
- Legislation negotiating purchasing of potential 6,000 acres of San Jose Water land

7. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto adjourned at 2:02 p.m. to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, January 24, 2018, at 12:00 p.m., in the Santa Clara Valley Water District Headquarters Boardroom.

Glenna Brambill Board Committee Liaison Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 1-24-18