

SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM INDEPENDENT MONITORING COMMITTEE

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 25, 2017

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee was held on January 25, 2017, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Kathleen Sutherland called the meeting to order at 4:06 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

A quorum was established.

Members in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Representative</u>
District 1	Julie Hutcheson*	
District 2	Marc Klemencic	Kathleen Sutherland
District 4	Debra Cauble	Hon. Joe Head
District 5	Bill Hoeft*	Eileen McLaughlin
District 6	Hon. Patrick S. Kwok	Hon. Dan McCorquodale*
District 7	Tess Byler	

Members not in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u> <u>Representative</u>
District 7 Kit Gordon

Board member in attendance was: Director Barbara Keegan, Board Representative.

Staff members in attendance were: Emmanuel Aryee, Ricardo Barajas, Rechelle Blank, Glenna Brambill, Russell Chen, Jennifer Codianne, Jessica Collins, Jerry De La Piedra, Vanessa De La Piedra, Chris Elias, Paul Fulcher, Vincent Gin, Jaclyn Goodwin, Chad Grande, Chris Hakes, Saeid Hosseini, Devin Mody, Ngoc Nguyen, Katherine Oven, Melanie Richardson, Afshin Rouhani, Kirsten Struve, Paul Thomas, Doug Titus, Jose Villarreal, and Liang Xu.

^{*}Committee Members arrived as indicated below.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

Mr. Dale Jelsema, a member of the public had some general committee questions: How is someone to give community input, contact someone from the committee and why are meeting minutes detained for months; answers provided by Ms. Glenna Brambill and Chair Sutherland.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES – DECEMBER 7, 2016, MEETING

It was moved by Ms. Debra Cauble and seconded by Hon. Patrick Kwok, and by majority vote carried to approve the minutes of the December 7, 2016, Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee meeting, as presented. Mr. Jimmy Nguyen abstained.

- *Mr. Bill Hoeft arrived at 4:12 p.m.
- *Hon. Dan McCoquordale arrived at 4:15 p.m.
- *Ms. Julie Hutcheson arrived at 4:21 p.m.

5. OUTCOME OF SUBCOMMITTEE MEETINGS (SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS)

Chair Sutherland and Ms. Jessica Collins reviewed materials as outlined in the agenda item and provided an overview of the handouts and subcommittee meetings.

PRIORITY B PROJECTS:

Subcommittee Chair Kwok and Ms. Jessica Collins reviewed the handout materials.

Hon. Joe Head, Ms. Tess Byler, Ms. Eileen McLaughlin, and Mr. Bill Hoeft spoke on this item.

PRIORITY A/C PROJECTS:

Subcommittee Chair Hoeft reviewed the handout materials.

Ms. Eileen McLaughlin, Hon. Patrick Kwok, Mr. Marc Klemencic spoke on this item.

Ms. Katherine Oven was available to answer questions.

PRIORITY D PROJECTS:

Subcommittee Chair McLaughlin reviewed the handout materials.

Ms. Tess Byler, Hon. Dan McCorquodale, and Ms. Julie Hutcheson spoke on this item.

Ms. Jennifer Codianne and Mr. Vincent Gin were available to answer questions.

PRIORITY E PROJECTS:

Subcommittee Chair Klemencic reviewed the handout materials.

Hon. Dan McCorquodale, Ms. Julie Hutcheson and Mr. Bill Hoeft, spoke on this item.

Ms. Katherine Oven, Ms. Melanie Richardson, Ms. Rechelle Blank and Ms. Jessica Collins were available to answer questions.

Hon. Patrick Kwok left at 5:40 p.m. and did not return.

PRIORITY OTHER PROJECTS:

Subcommittee Chair Head reviewed the handout materials.

Chair Sutherland, Hon. Dan McCorquodale, Ms. Eileen McLaughlin and Ms. Tess Byler, spoke on this item.

No action was taken.

6. NEXT STEPS

Chair Kathleen Sutherland will meet with the Subcommittee Chairs on Wednesday, February 1, 2017, to begin drafting the final review for Report 3.

Ms. Glenna Brambill will finalize the schedule for February 1, 2017, meeting after seeing which time works the best for the majority.

No action was taken.

7. REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF ACTION ITEMS

Ms. Glenna Brambill noted there were no action items for Board consideration.

8. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Kathleen Sutherland adjourned the meeting at 5:59 p.m. to the next meeting on Wednesday, February 15, 2017, at 4:00 p.m. in the Santa Clara Valley Water District's Headquarters Building Boardroom.

Glenna Brambill
Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 2-15-17