







JOINT WATER RESOURCES COMMITTEE (CITY OF GILROY, CITY OF MORGAN HILL AND VALLEY WATER)

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 6, 2019 8:30 AM

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A meeting of the Joint Water Resources Committee (City of Gilroy, City of Morgan Hill and Valley Water) (Committee) was held on March 6, 2019, at the South County Regional Wastewater Authority Conference Room, 1500 Southside Dr., Gilroy, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

A meeting of the Joint Recycled Water Committee (City of Gilroy, City of Morgan Hill and Valley Water) was called to order by Committee Chair Hon. Richard P. Santos at 8:37 a.m.

Committee Members in attendance were: City of Gilroy Council Members: Hon. Marie Blankley and Hon. Dion Bracco, City of Morgan Hill Council Members: Hon. Larry Carr and Hon. Rene Spring; Valley Water Directors: Hon. Richard P. Santos, District 3, and Hon. John L. Varela, District 1.

Valley Water Staff members in attendance were: Hossein Ashktorab, Joe Atmore, Glenna Brambill, Jerry De La Piedra, Garth Hall, Nina Hawk, Metra Richert and David Tucker.

City of Gilroy Staff Members in attendance were: Girum Awoke, Gabriel Gonzalez and Saeid Vaziry.

City of Morgan Hill Staff Members in attendance were: Anthony Eulo, Chris Ghione and Christina Turner.

Public Attendees: Sharon Luna, John McKay, Doug Muirhead and Sanjay Reddy.

2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA. There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

3.1 APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Hon. Rene Spring, seconded by Hon. Larry Carr, and unanimously carried, to approve the minutes of the June 6, 2018, Joint Water Resources Committee (City of Gilroy, City of Morgan Hill and Valley Water) meeting, as presented.

4. ACTION ITEMS

4.1 UPDATE ON WATER SUPPLY MASTER PLAN

Ms. Metra Richert reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

The Committee discussed the following items: Agriculture, "No Regrets", Pacheco Reservoir, South County Recharge issues, Rates: north vs south (6.6%/6.9%) averages and annual increases.

Mr. Jerry De La Piedra and Mr. Garth Hall were available to answer questions.

The Committee took no action.

4.2 UPDATE ON COUNTYWIDE WATER REUSE MASTER PLAN

Mr. David Tucker reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

The Committee discussed the following items: SCRWA process and potential expansion of plant, Valley Water's Master Plan, impact of rain and how are the resources being utilized, aging waste water facilities, population growth-flows decreasing, Model Ordinance, water conservation, Valley Water's education and grant programs, potable-non-potable mix, purified water, recycled water, partnering with other agencies on future water needs for the County.

Mr. Gabriel Gonzalez, Mr. Saeid Vaziry, Mr. Chris Ghione, Ms. Nina Hawk, Mr. Jerry De La Piedra, Mr. Hossein Ashktorab and Ms. Christina Turner were available to answer questions.

Mr. Doug Muirhead member of the public from Morgan Hill spoke on this agenda item regarding: costs, what would be paid if there was no water, imported water allocation and recharging. Ms. Sharon Luna member of the public from San Martin spoke on this agenda item regarding: San Martin having a 'seat' at the table to have their interests addressed.

The Committee took no action.

4.3 OPEN SPACE CREDIT

Mr. Joe Atmore reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item

The Committee took no action; however, the Committee will have this agenda item return for the next meeting.

4.4 REVIEW JOINT WRC WITH CITIES OF GILROY/MORGAN HILL/SCRWA COMMITTEE WORK PLAN, THE OUTCOMES OF BOARD ACTION OF COMMITTEE REQUESTS; AND THE COMMITTEE'S NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Ms. Glenna Brambill reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Place agenda item 4.3 Open Space Credit, South County Treatment Plant and Update on Dam Projects on next meeting's agenda.

The Committee took no action.

5. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMITTEE ACTIONS

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there were no action items for consideration.

6. ADJOURN

Chair Hon. Richard P. Santos adjourned at 9:51 a.m. to the next meeting on June 5, 2019.

Glenna Brambill Board Committee Liaison Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 6-5-19