

SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION MEETING

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 22, 2020 12:00 PM

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regular meeting of the Santa Clara Valley Water Commission (Commission) was held on January 22, 2020, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom, located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Hon. Chair Debi Davis called the meeting to order at 12:08 p.m. A quorum of 11 was established.

Members in attendance were:

<u>Municipality</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Alternate</u>
City of Cupertino	Hon. Jon Willey	
City of Gilroy	Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz	
City of Los Altos	Hon. Anita Enander	
Town of Los Altos Hills	Hon. Courtenay Corrigan*	
Town of Los Gatos	Hon. Barbara Spector	
City of Morgan Hill	Hon. Rich Constantine	
City of Mountain View	Hon. Lucas Ramirez	
City of San José	Hon. Pam Foley	
City of Santa Clara	Hon. Debi Davis	
City of Saratoga	Hon. Rishi Kumar	
City of Sunnyvale	Hon. Nancy Smith*	
Open Space Authority Santa Clara	Hon. Mike Flaugher	
Valley	-	
Midpeninsula Regional Open Space	Hon. Jed Cyr	
District	-	

Members not in attendance were:

Municipality City of Campbell City of Cupertino City of Gilroy City of Los Altos Town of Los Gatos	Representative Hon. Susan M. Landry	Alternate Hon. Anne Bybee Hon. Steven Scharf Hon. Fred Tovar Hon. Lynette Lee Eng Hon. Rob Rennie
City of Milpitas Town of Monte Sereno City of Morgan Hill City of Mountain View	Hon. Carmen Montano Hon. Liz Lawler	Hon. Karina R. Dominguez Hon. Javed Ellahie Hon. Larry Carr Hon. Alison Hicks
City of Palo Alto City of San José City of Santa Clara City of Saratoga City of Sunnyvale County of Santa Clara Santa Clara Valley Open	Hon. Tom DuBois Hon. Mike Wasserman	Kerrie Romanow Hon. Kathy Watanabe Hon. Yan Zhao Hon. Mason Fong Hon. Cindy Chavez Hon. Shay Franco-Clausen
Space Authority Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District		Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto

^{*}Commission Members arrived at time stated.

Board members in attendance were: Directors Nai Hsueh and Linda J. LeZotte, Board Representatives.

Staff members in attendance were: Glenna Brambill, Norma J. Camacho, Vanessa De La Piedra, Lisa Flores, Vincent Gin, Nina Hawk, Marta Lugo, Brian Mendenhall, Anthony Mendiola, Metra Richert, Darin Taylor and Bhavani Yerrapotu.

Guest in attendance was: Hon. Yvonne Martinez-Beltran (City of Morgan Hill), Director Richard P. Santos (Valley Water-as an observer only) and Gary Welling (City of Santa Clara).

2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON AGENDA

There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Hon. Pam Foley, seconded by Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz, and unanimously carried, to approve the October 23, 2019, Santa Clara Valley Water Commission meeting minutes as presented.

4. ACTION ITEMS

4.1. ELECTION OF CHAIR

It was moved by Hon. Debi Davis, seconded by Hon. Anita Enander, and unanimously carried, to elect Hon. Rich Constantine as 2020 Water Commission Chair.

4.1. ELECTION OF CHAIR

Hon. Rishi Kumar nominated Hon. John Willey as Vice Chair, he declined. Hon. Debi Davis nominated Hon. Anita Enander as Vice Chair, she declined.

It was moved by Hon. Debi Davis, seconded by Hon. Anita Enander, and unanimously carried, to elect Pam Foley as 2020 Water Commission Vice Chair.

5. 5.1 REVIEW AND APPROVE 2019 ANNUAL ACCOMPLISHMENTS REPORT FOR PRESENTATION TO THE BOARD (COMMISSION CHAIR)

Chair Rich Constantine reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

It was moved by Hon. Pam Foley, seconded by Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz, and unanimously carried, to approve the 2019 Annual Accomplishments Report.

*Hon. Courtenay Corrigan arrived at 12:15 p.m.

5.2 REVIEW AND COMMENT TO THE BOARD ON THE FISCAL YEAR 2020-21 PRELIMINARY GROUNDWATER PRODUCTION CHARGES

Mr. Darin Taylor reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

The Commissioners (Hon. Rishi Kumar, Hon. Debi Davis, Hon. Mike Flaugher, Hon. Nancy Smith, Hon. Courtenay Corrigan and Hon. Jon Willey) discussed the following issues/concerns: downward trends, water conservation, delta conveyance, risk assessment of the new master plan, rate increases, groundwater levels/aquifers, surface water surcharge, treated water, differences between north and south county zones, breakdown between commercial/industrial vs. domestic/residential, infrastructure and smart meters.

Hon. Anita Enander left at 12:30 p.m. and did not return.

Hon. Nancy Smith arrived at 12:32 p.m.

Ms. Metra Richert, Ms. Nina Hawk, and Ms. Vanessa De La Piedra were available to answer questions.

The Commission took no action.

5.3 OPPORTUNITIES TO ENHANCE AND UPDATE THE SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM BY EVALUATING A FUTURE FUNDING MEASURE

Ms. Marta Lugo reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Hon. Rishi Kumar left at 12:59 p.m. and did not return.

The Commissioners (Hon. Courtenay Corrigan, Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz, Hon. Pam Foley, Hon. Jon Willey, Hon. Nancy Smith, Hon. Mike Flaugher, Hon. Debi Davis), discussed the following issues/concerns: ballot measure regarding this issue in north county, polling and actual feedback, why going to the voters now, blue ribbon meetings, habitat restoration/wildlife preservation, homeless population concerns, creeks and waterways,

Hon. Jon Willey left at 1:21 p.m. and did not return.

Director Linda J. LeZotte, advised the Water Commission that there is a Homeless Encampment Ad Hoc Committee that addresses the myriad of homeless issues.

The Commission took no action.

Hon. Barbara Spector left at 1:26 p.m. and did not return.

5.4 REVIEW SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION WORK PLAN, THE OUTCOMES OF BOARD ACTION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS AND THE COMMISSION'S NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Ms. Glenna Brambill reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

The Commission took no action.

6. 6.1. STANDING ITEMS REPORTS

Chair Rich Constantine reviewed the standing items report.

The Commission took no action.

7. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS TO THE BOARD

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there were no action items for Board consideration.

8. REPORTS

8.1 Director's Report

Director Linda LeZotte thanked the Commission for their participation and that she was the outgoing Board Chair for 2019.

8.2 Manager's Report

CEO Norma Camacho announced to the Commission that she is retiring as of July 2020.

8.3 Commission Member Reports

Chair Constantine reminded the Commissioners not wanting hard copy agenda packets mailed to them, to let Board Committee Liaison Glenna Brambill know.

8.4 Informational Link Reports

None.

9. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Hon. Rich Constantine adjourned at 1:32 p.m. to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, April 8, 2020 at 12:00 p.m., in the Santa Clara Valley Water District Headquarters Boardroom. *(meeting was canceled due to COVID 19 Shelter in Place restrictions)*

Glenna Brambill Board Committee Liaison Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 10-28-2020