

SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION MEETING

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, JULY 24, 2019 12:00 PM

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regular meeting of the Santa Clara Valley Water Commission (Commission) was held on July 24, 2019, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom, located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Municipality

Hon. Vice Chair Rich Constantine called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

Members in attendance were:

<u>iviuriicipality</u>	Representative	Allemale
City of Campbell	Hon. Susan M. Landry	
City of Cupertino	Hon. Darcy Paul	
City of Gilroy	Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz	
City of Los Altos	Hon. Anita Enander	
Town of Los Gatos	Hon. Steve Leonardis	
City of Milpitas	Hon. Carmen Montano	
Town of Monte Sereno		Hon. Javed Ellahie
City of Morgan Hill	Hon. Rich Constantine	
City of Mountain View		
City of Saratoga	Hon. Rishi Kumar	
City of Sunnyvale	Hon. Nancy Smith	
Santa Clara Valley Open Space	Hon. Mike Flaugher	
Authority	-	
Midpeninsula Regional Open Space	Hon. Jed Cyr*	
District		

Poprocontativo

Altarnata

Members not in attendance were:

Municipality	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Alternate</u>
City of Campbell		Hon. Anne Bybee
City of Cupertino		Hon. Steven Scharf
		Timm Borden
City of Gilroy		Hon. Fred Tovar
City of Los Altos		Hon. Lynette Lee Eng
Town of Los Altos Hills	Hon. Courtenay Corrigan	
Town of Los Gatos		Hon. Marcia Jensen
City of Milpitas		Hon. Karina R. Dominguez
Town of Monte Sereno	Hon. Liz Lawler	
City of Morgan Hill		Hon. Larry Carr
City of Mountain View	Hon. Lucas Ramirez	Hon. Alison Hicks
City of Palo Alto	Hon. Tom DuBois	
City of San José	Hon. Pam Foley	Kerrie Romanow
City of Santa Clara	Hon. Debi Davis	Hon. Kathy Watanabe
City of Saratoga		Hon. Yan Zhao
City of Sunnyvale		Hon. Larry Klein
County of Santa Clara	Hon. Mike Wasserman	Hon. Cindy Chavez
Midpeninsula Regional Open		Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto
Space District		
Santa Clara Valley Open		Hon. Shay Franco-Clausen
Space Authority		

Board members in attendance were: Directors Nai Hsueh and Linda J. LeZotte, Board Representatives.

Staff members in attendance were: Lisa Bankosh, Glenna Brambill, Norma Camacho, Domingo Candelas, Jerry De La Piedra, Vincent Gin, Samantha Greene, Nina Hawk, Anthony Mendiola and Metra Richert.

Special Guests were: Karla Dailey and Gary Welling.

2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON AGENDA

There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz, seconded by Hon Steve Leonardis, and unanimously carried, to approve the April 10, 2019, Santa Clara Valley Water Commission meeting minutes as presented.

4. 4.1. STANDING ITEMS REPORTS

Ms. Glenna Brambill gave an overview of the new standing agenda item. Director Nai Hsueh spoke about the FY2019-2020 Board Work Plan handout distributed.

The Commission took no action.

*Hon. Jed Cyr arrived at 12:05 p.m.

5. ACTION ITEMS

5.1 UPDATE ON WATER SUPPLY MASTER PLAN

Ms. Metra Richert reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda. The June 2019 Draft Water Supply Master Plan report was distributed.

Hon. Mike Flaugher, Hon. Susan Landry, Hon. Nancy Smith, Hon. Javed Ellahie, Hon. Rishi Kumar, Hon. Darcy Paul, Hon. Anita Enander and Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz had questions and concerns on the following issues: water supply, Delta Conveyance, population growth, demands on water, use of software tools, flooding, technology, Anderson Dam retrofit, seismic retrofit costs, stream gauges, modeling, Urban Master Plan vs Water Supply Master Plan, reverse osmosis and desalination.

Mr. Jerry De La Piedra, Ms. Samantha Greene, Ms. Nina Hawk, Ms. Metra Richert and Mr. Vincent Gin were available to answer questions.

The Commission took no action.

5.2 DISCUSS POLICY FRAMEWORK AND OUTREACH PLAN FOR USE OF SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER DISTRICT PROPERTY FOR TRAILS

Ms. Lisa Bankosh reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Hon. Anita Enander left at 12:43 p.m. and did not return.

Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz, Hon. Susan Landry, Hon. Nancy Smith, Hon. Mike Flaugher, Hon. Rishi Kumar, Hon. Darcy Paul, Hon. Carmen Montano and Hon. Jed Cyr had questions and concerns on the following issues, homelessness, open space, trails, riparian corridor, ongoing planning-methodology, policy vs guidelines-top of bank-levee rise, flood protection, transparency, fire prevention, maintenance of creeks/access, outreach, responsible agencies' process, policy language, neighbors' concerns with the trails in their backyards and grant funding for trails.

Hon. Steve Leonardis left at 1:30 p.m. and did not return.

Mr. Vincent Gin, Director Linda J. LeZotte, Director Nai Hsueh, Ms. Norma Camacho, Ms. Lisa Bankosh were available to answer questions.

The Commission took no action.

5.3 REVIEW SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION WORK PLAN, THE OUTCOMES OF BOARD ACTION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS AND THE COMMISSION'S NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Ms. Glenna Brambill reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Hon. Susan M. Landry and Hon. Nancy Smith had question on the Riparian Corridor, Salmonid and FAHCE work plan items.

Directors LeZotte and Hsueh will work with staff in getting answers regarding these items.

The Commission took no action.

6. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS TO THE BOARD

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there were no action items for Board consideration.

7. REPORTS

7.1 Director's Report

• Director Linda J. LeZotte report that Valley Water is sponsoring a Volunteers' night out at the San Jose Giants game on Friday, August 16, 2019 and she will be throwing the out the first pitch!

7.2 Manager's Report

None.

7.3 Commission Member Reports

Hon. Nancy Smith reported on the 100th year of Women's suffrage.

7.4 Informational Link Reports

None.

8. ADJOURNMENT

Vice Chair Hon. Rich Constantine adjourned at 1:54 p.m. to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, October 23, 2019, at 12:00 p.m., in the Santa Clara Valley Water District Headquarters Boardroom.

Glenna Brambill Board Committee Liaison Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 10-23-19