

# SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION MEETING

# **MINUTES**

# WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 28, 2020 12:00 PM

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regular meeting of the Santa Clara Valley Water Commission (Commission) was held on October 28, 2020, Teleconference via Zoom in San Jose, California.

# 1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Chair Hon. Rich Constantine called the meeting to order at 12:03 p.m. A quorum of 13 was established.

# Members in attendance were:

<u>Municipality</u>	<b>Representative</b>
City of Cupertino	Hon. Jon Willey
City of Gilroy	Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz
City of Los Altos	Hon. Anita Enander
Town of Los Altos Hills	Hon. Courtenay Corrigan
Town of Los Gatos	Hon. Barbara Spector
Town of Monte Sereno	Hon. Liz Lawler
City of Morgan Hill	Hon. Rich Constantine
City of Mountain View	Hon. Lucas Ramirez
City of San José	Hon. Pam Foley
City of Saratoga	Hon. Rishi Kumar
City of Sunnyvale	Hon. Nancy Smith
County of Santa Clara	Hon. Mike Wasserman
Midpeninsula Regional Open Space	Hon. Jed Cyr
District	<u>-</u>

**Alternate** 

# **Members not in attendance were:**

<u>Municipality</u>	Representative	<u>Alternate</u>
City of Campbell	Hon. Susan M. Landry	Hon. Anne Bybee
City of Cupertino		Hon. Steven Scharf
City of Gilroy		Hon. Fred Tovar
City of Los Altos		Hon. Lynette Lee Eng
Town of Los Gatos		Hon. Rob Rennie
City of Milpitas	Hon. Carmen Montano	Hon. Karina R. Dominguez
Town of Monte Sereno		Hon. Javed Ellahie
City of Morgan Hill		Hon. Yvonne Martinez Beltran
City of Mountain View		Hon. Alison Hicks
City of Palo Alto	Hon. Tom DuBois	
City of San José		Kerrie Romanow
City of Santa Clara	Hon. Debi Davis	Hon. Kathy Watanabe
City of Saratoga		Hon. Yan Zhao
City of Sunnyvale		Hon. Mason Fong
County of Santa Clara		Hon. Cindy Chavez
Santa Clara Valley Open	Hon. Mike Flaugher	Hon. Shay Franco-Clausen
Space Authority	-	
Midpeninsula Regional		Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto
Open Space District		

<sup>\*</sup>Commission Members arrived at time stated.

Board members in attendance were: Director Tony Estremera and Director Nai Hsueh, Board Representatives.

Staff members in attendance were: Jennifer Abadilla, Aaron Baker, Glenna Brambill, Jerry De La Piedra, Rachael Gibson, Vincent Gin, Andrew Gschwind, Michele King, Stacy Klopfer, Carmen Narayanan, Don Rocha, Darin Taylor, and Kristen Yasukawa.

Guests in attendance were: Mr. Brendan McCarthy (City of Santa Clara) and Mr. Mansour Nasser (City of Sunnyvale), Mr. Christopher Hoem (Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors), Mr. Jeff Provenzano (City of San José), and Mr. Gary Welling (City of Santa Clara).

# 2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON AGENDA

There was no one present who wished to speak.

#### 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Hon. Mike Wasserman, seconded by Hon. Courtenay Corrigan, and unanimously carried by roll call vote (13 yes votes), to approve the January 22, 2020, Santa Clara Valley Water Commission meeting minutes as presented.

#### 4. ACTION ITEMS

# 4.1 FY2020-21 GROUNDWATER PRODUCTION CHARGES AND VALLEY WATER BUDGET UPDATE

Mr. Darin Taylor reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

The Santa Clara Valley Water Commission (Hon. Rich Constantine and Hon. Mike Wasserman) discussed the following: Anderson Dam and not raising the rates for Agricultural Water users.

The Santa Clara Valley Water Commission took no action.

#### 4.2 REVVIEW FY2020-21 BOARD WORK PLAN

Ms. Glenna Brambill and Director Nai Hsueh reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

The Santa Clara Valley Water Commission (Hon. Lucas Ramirez, Hon. Nancy Smith, and Hon. Anita Enander) discussed the following: Anderson Dam/purchasing water, water supply goal, water agreements with agencies, homeless crises (identifying properties), recycled water partnering, raising wholesale water rates/retailers being engaged early on, census information/impacts from data, building of more housing, capturing water, rechecking State projections for Santa Clara County with respect to overall modeling and Climate Change Action Plan.

Director Tony Estremera, Ms. Melanie Richardson and Mr. Aaron Baker were available to answer questions.

The Santa Clara Valley Water Commission took no action

# 4.3 REVIEW SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION WORK PLAN, THE OUTCOMES OF BOARD ACTION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS AND THE COMMISSION'S NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Ms. Glenna Brambill reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

The Santa Clara Valley Water Commission took no action

# 5. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS TO THE BOARD

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there were no action items for Board consideration.

#### 6. REPORTS

# 6.1 Director's Report

Director Nai Hsueh announced new CEO, Mr. Rick Callender.

# 6.2 Manager's Report

Ms. Rachael Gibson reported on:

- Governor vetoing of AB3005
- Seeking support on upcoming New Bill
- Measure S funding

Ms. Kristen Yasukawa reported on:

Valley Water's Grant Program

# 6.3 Commission Member Reports

Chair Constantine reminded the Commissioners not wanting hard copy agenda packets mailed to them, to let Board Committee Liaison Ms. Glenna Brambill know.

# 6.4 Informational Link Reports

None.

#### 7. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Hon. Rich Constantine adjourned at 12:55 p.m. to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, January 27, 2021, at 12:00 p.m.

Glenna Brambill Board Committee Liaison Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 1-27-2021