

SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER DISTRICT YOUTH COMMISSION MEETING

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, MAY 10, 2018 6:00 PM

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

An orientation meeting of the Santa Clara Valley Water District Youth Commission (Youth Commission) was held on May 10, 2018, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom, located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Board Committee Liaison Ms. Glenna Brambill called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Members in attendance were:

Jurisdiction	Representative	Representative	Representative
District 1	Ishita Verma	Serena Wood	
District 2	Kalie Ching	Elise Mullen	Visala Tallavarjula
District 3	Ari Feinsmith	Thomas Nguyen	Yugam Satija*
District 4	Adrienne Couteau	Shloka Janapaty*	Navya Pariti
District 5	Arnav Gattani	Alden Hughes	Michael Zhao*
District 6	Hugo Marquez		
District 7	Cole Baker	Sofia Ruiz	Arushi Saxena

Members not in attendance were:

Jurisdiction	Representative	Representative	Representative
District 1	Malachi Plaugher		
District 6	Kathryn Bravo	Jack Grzegorzyk	

^{*}Youth Commission Member arrived as noted.

Board members in attendance were: Director Nai Hsueh and Director Barbara Keegan, Board Representatives.

Staff members in attendance were: Glenna Brambill, Janet Hedley, Brian Hopper, Michele King, Marta Lugo, Meda Okelo, Samantha Pe-Wong, and Darin Taylor.

2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON AGENDA

There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. WELCOME

Mr. Darin Taylor welcomed the district staff and the two Board Members that were present:

Directors Nai Hsueh and Barbara Keegan welcomed the Youth Commissioners.

4. OATH OF OFFICE-YOUTH COMMISSION MEMBERS

Ms. Michele King administered the oath of office to the following Youth Commissioners:

*Mr. Michael Zhao arrived at 6:11 p.m.

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	Representative	Representative	Representative
District 1	Ishita Verma	Serena Wood	
District 2	Kalie Ching	Elise Mullen	Visala Tallavarjula
District 3	Ari Feinsmith	Thomas Nguyen	Yugam Satija
District 4	Adrienne Couteau	Shloka Janapaty	Navya Pariti
District 5	Arnav Gattani	Alden Hughes	Michael Zhao
District 6	Hugo Marquez		
District 7	Cole Baker	Arushi Saxena	Sofia Ruiz

5. INTRODUCTIONS/INTERATIVE ACTIVITIES

Ms. Marta Lugo conducted the first interactive activity with the blue marble and how it pertains to earth and water. The Youth Commissioners also took this opportunity to introduced themselves, their backgrounds and the District they represent.

Mr. Meda Okelo conducted the second interactive activity where the Youth Commissioners learned a little about the District's mission, water related questions and getting to know one another.

Ms. Janet Hedley conducted the third interactive activity where the Youth Commissioners broke into groups to learn more about each another and more emphasis on the blue marble and the importance of water as a precious resource.

6. NEXT STEPS AND MEETING DATES

Mr. Meda Okelo conducted the exercise on next steps and meeting dates where the Youth Commissioners worked collectively deciding by consensus on which day and time they would meet. It was decided their next meeting would be on Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 6:00 p.m.

^{*}Ms. Shloka Janapty arrived at 6:06 p.m.

^{*}Mr. Yugam Satija arrived at 6:07 p.m.

7. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS TO THE BOARD

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there were no items for Board consideration.

8. ADJOURN

Board Committee Liaison Ms. Glenna Brambill adjourned at 7:33 p.m. to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, June 13, 2018, at 6:00 p.m., in the Santa Clara Valley Water District Headquarters Boardroom.

Glenna Brambill Board Committee Liaison Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 6-13-18