

SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM INDEPENDENT MONITORING COMMITTEE

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 27, 2016

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee was held on January 27, 2016, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Kathleen Sutherland called the meeting to order at 4:14 p.m. Chair Kathleen Sutherland called the meeting to order at 4:26 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

No Quorum at 4:16 p.m. Quorum was established at 4:26 p.m. with the following:

Members in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Representative</u>
District 1	Julie Hutcheson*	
District 2	Marc Klemencic	Kathleen Sutherland
District 4	Hon. Joe Head	
District 5	Bill Hoeft	Eileen McLaughlin
District 6	Hon. Patrick S. Kwok	
District 7	Tess Byler	
Appointment	Jimmy Nguyen*	

Members not in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>
District 3	Tony Santos
District 4	Debra Cauble

District 6 Hon. Dan McCorquodale

District 7 Kit Gordon

No Board members were in attendance.

^{*}Committee Members arrived as indicated below.

Staff members in attendance were: Ricardo Barajas, Rechelle Blank, Glenna Brambill, Brett Calhoun, Jessica Collins, Jerry De La Piedra, Vanessa De La Piedra, Chris Elias, Stephen Ferranti, Jesus Nava, Ngoc Nguyen, Katherine Oven, Melanie Richardson, Marynka Rojas, Darin Taylor, Paul Thomas, Doug Titus, Jose Villarreal, Kristen Yasukawa, and Sarah Young.

3. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no one present who wished to speak.

*Mr. Jimmy Nguyen arrived at 4:25 p.m.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Mr. Bill Hoeft, and seconded by Ms. Eileen McLaughlin, and unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the December 2, 2015, Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee meeting, as presented.

5. PLANNING GRANTS UPDATE

Ms. Sarah Young presented the Committee with an update on the grants program.

6. OUTCOME OF SUBCOMMITTEE MEETINGS

The Subcommittee Chairs presented the Committee with an overview of their respective Priorities (Hon. Patrick Kwok for Priorities A and B, Mr. Bill Hoeft for Priorities C and E, Ms. Eileen McLaughlin for Priority D, Mr. Jimmy Nguyen for Other Projects).

Ms. Rechelle Blank, Mr. Brett Calhoun, Ms. Jessica Collins, Ms. Vanessa De La Piedra,

Mr. Chris Elias, Ms. Katherine Oven, Ms. Melanie Richardson, Mr. Darin Taylor

Ms. Sarah Young were available to answer questions.

Hon. Patrick Kwok left the meeting at 5:40 p.m., and did not return.

Hon. Joe Head left the meeting at 5:45 p.m., and did not return.

*Ms. Julie Hutcheson arrived at 6:03 p.m.

7. NEXT STEPS

a. Updated Schedule

Ms. Jessica Collins reviewed the updated schedule along with key deadlines.

b. Draft Report 2 (Next Meeting)

Chair Kathleen Sutherland informed the next Committee meeting would be, Wednesday, March 2, 2016 at 4:00 p.m. to review the Draft Report 2.

8. REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF ACTION ITEMS

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there were no action items for Board consideration.

9. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Kathleen Sutherland adjourned the meeting at 6:41 p.m.

Glenna Brambill
Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 3-2-16