

SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM INDEPENDENT MONITORING COMMITTEE

MINUTES

THURSDAY, APRIL 2, 2015

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Independent Monitoring Committee was held on April 2, 2015, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Kathleen Sutherland called the meeting to order at 5:01 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Members in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Representative</u>
District 1	Julie Hutcheson	
District 2	Kathleen Sutherland	Marc Klemencic
District 3	Lonnie Gross	Tony Santos
District 4	Debra Cauble	
District 5	Bill Hoeft	
District 6	Hon. Dan McCorquodale	
District 7	Tess Byler	Kit Gordon

Members not in attendance were:

JurisdictionRepresentativeDistrict 4Hon. Joe HeadDistrict 5Eileen McLaughlinDistrict 6Hon. Patrick KwokCurrent Chair AppointmentJimmy Nguyen

No Board members in attendance.

Staff members in attendance were Glenna Brambill, Jessica Collins, Jerry De La Piedra, Shree Dharasker, Chris Elias, Juan Ledesma, Liang Lee, Melanie Richardson, Darin Taylor, Mark Wander, Kristen Yasukawa, and Sarah Young.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no one present who wished to speak.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Mr. Bill Hoeft, and seconded by Ms. Lonnie Gross and by majority vote to approve the minutes of the November 5, 2014, Safe, Clean Water And Natural Flood Protection Program Committee meeting, as presented. There were two abstentions by Ms. Debra Cauble and Mr. Marc Klemencic.

5. OVERVIEW PRESENTATION OF SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM

Mr. Shree Dharasker and Mr. Juan Ledesma reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item; SCW Priorities A through E, Board of Directors' concerns and FY2014 Annual Report key accomplishments). Mr. Liang Lee. Ms. Melanie Richardson and Mr. Chris Elias were available to answer questions.

6. DISCUSSION COMMITTEE ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES

Chair Sutherland advised the Committee that part of their roles when reviewing the report is to make sure the Water District is performing the parameters set forth in the ballot measure.

It was moved by Ms. Tess Byler, seconded by Ms. Debbie Cauble and unanimously carried, to approve having sub-committees to divide the priorities amongst the members to enable them to work on reviewing the report with the time constraints.

7. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE MEETINGS, STRUCTURE, AUDITING AND TIMELINES

Chair Sutherland discussed future meetings and the structure of how the committee would perform their auditing functions within the May 14, 2015, timeline.

8. REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF ACTION ITEMS

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there was one formal action. There was a request made for staff to supply information on approved grant proposals for Priorities A-E and any other capital projects.

9. NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Chair Sutherland advised the Committee that the next meeting was April 23, 2015.

10. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Sutherland adjourned the meeting at 6:14 p.m.

Glenna Brambill
Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 4-23-15