

SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM INDEPENDENT MONITORING COMMITTEE

MINUTES

THURSDAY, APRIL 23, 2015

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee was held on April 23, 2015, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Ms. Kathleen Sutherland called the meeting to order at 5:05 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Members in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>	Representative
District 1	Julie Hutcheson	
District 2	Kathleen Sutherland	Marc Klemencic
District 3	Lonnie Gross	Tony Santos
District 4	Debra Cauble	Hon. Joe Head
District 5	Bill Hoeft	
District 6	Hon. Dan McCorquodale	Hon. Patrick Kwok
District 7	Tess Byler*	Kit Gordon
Current Board Chair Appointment	Jimmy Nguyen	

Members not in attendance were:

JurisdictionRepresentativeDistrict 5Eileen McLaughlin

No Board members were in attendance.

Staff members in attendance were: Teresa Alvarado, Emmanuel Aryee, Rechelle Blank, Glenna Brambill, Debra Caldon, Jessica Collins, Jerry De La Piedra, Vanessa De La Piedra, Shree Dharasker, Chris Elias, Stephen Ferranti, Carol Fredrickson, Meenakshi Ganjoo, Saeid Hosseini, Juan Ledesma, Melissa Moore, Judy Nam, Roger Narsim, Lotina Nishijima, Katherine Oven, LeeAnn Pelham, Melanie Richardson, Pat Showalter, Kevin Sibley, Darin Taylor, Paul Thomas, Doug Titus, James Ujah, Mark Wander, Liang Xu, Kristen Yasugawa, and Sarah Young.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no one present who wished to speak.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Ms. Debra Cauble, and seconded by Hon. Patrick Kwok and by majority vote to approve the minutes of the April 2, 2015, Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee meeting, as presented. There was one abstention by Mr. Jimmy Nguyen.

*Ms. Tess Byler arrived at 5:11 p.m.

5. SUB-COMMITTEES REPORTS AND PROPOSALS FOR PRIORITIES RECOMMENDATIONS

Chair Sutherland opened the floor for each Sub-Committee Chair to give a report on their respective meetings.

5A. Priority A Chair Hon. Patrick Kwok gave an overview of the sub-committee meeting held on Wednesday, April 15, 2015, regarding the projects outcomes.

Ms. Teresa Alvarado and Ms. Vanessa De La Piedra gave an overview of the Outreach Programs. Mr. Emmanuel Aryee was available to answer questions.

- 5B. Priority B Chair Hon. Patrick Kwok gave an overview of the sub-committee meeting held on Thursday, April 16, 2015, regarding the projects outcomes.
- 5C. Priority C Chair Mr. Bill Hoeft gave an overview of the sub-committee meeting held on Tuesday, April 14, 2015, regarding the projects outcomes.
- Mr. Chris Elias and Ms. Carol Fredrickson were available to answer questions.
- 5D. Priority D Chair Ms. Julie Hutcheson gave an overview of the sub-committee meeting held on Friday, April 17, 2015, regarding the projects outcomes.

 Ms. Debra Caldon and Mr. Chris Elias were available to answer questions.
- 5E. Priority E Chair Mr. Tony Santos gave an overview of the sub-committee meeting held on Thursday, April 16, 2015, regarding the projects outcomes. Mr. Chris Elias, Ms. Judy Nam, Ms. Melanie Richardson and Mr. Mark Wander were available to answer questions.

5Other. Other Capital Projects Co-Chair Hon. Joe Head gave an overview of the sub-committee meeting held on Friday, April 17, 2015, regarding the projects outcomes. Ms. Melanie Richardson was available to answer questions.

6. FINANCIAL OVERVIEW

Mr. Darin Taylor reviewed the financial component of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program and handed out Appendix A: Cumulative Financial Summary of Fiscal Year 2013-2014, a section of the Program's 2013-2014 Report, Year 1.

Mr. Chris Elias and Ms. Melanie Richardson were available to answer questions.

Committee Request:

The Committee would like to receive more information on the Capital Improvement Plan (CIP) with emphasis on the environmental projects.

7. DISCUSSION OF NEXT STEPS

7A-C. Chair Sutherland advised the Committee that the next item to be completed is the final written report and determine its layout and contents. The deadline is Thursday, May 14, 2015, however, there is a short window to meet this timeline. The Committee discussed how this could be accomplished and suggested that a smaller Committee would be more manageable to determine the report layout, the contents and return to the full Committee for review, input and any further discussion.

Ms. Debra Cauble left at 7:19 p.m. and did not return.

It was moved by Ms. Kit Gordon, and seconded by Ms. Julie Hutcheson and carried by majority vote to approve having the Sub-Committee Chairs/or designee meet to begin discussing how the audit report will look and come up with a written template before coming back to the full Committee for their discussion and input.

8. REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF ACTION ITEMS

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there were no formal action items for Board consideration.

9. NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Chair Sutherland advised the Committee of the next meeting of May 14, 2015.

10. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Sutherland adjourned the meeting at 7:36 p.m.

Glenna Brambill
Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 5-14-15