

SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM INDEPENDENT MONITORING COMMITTEE

MINUTES

THURSDAY, MAY 14, 2015

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee was held on May 14, 2015, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Ms. Kathleen Sutherland called the meeting to order at 4:39 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Members in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>	Representative
District 1	Julie Hutcheson*	
District 2	Kathleen Sutherland	Marc Klemencic*
District 3	Lonnie Gross	
District 4	Hon. Joe Head	
District 5	Bill Hoeft*	Eileen McLaughlin
District 6	Hon. Dan McCorquodale	Hon. Patrick Kwok
District 7	Tess Byler	Kit Gordon

Members not in attendance were:

JurisdictionRepresentativeDistrict 3Tony SantosDistrict 4Debbie CaubleCurrent Board Chair AppointmentJimmy Nguyen

Board member in attendance was Directory Gary Kremen.

Staff members in attendance were: Rechelle Blank, Glenna Brambill, Debra Caldon, Norma Camacho, Jessica Collins, Jerry De La Piedra, Vanessa De La Piedra, Shree Dharasker, Chris Elias, Carol Fredrickson, Juan Ledesma, Liang Lee, Jen-Men Lo, Frank Maitski, Devin Mody, Ngoc Nguyen, Melanie Richardson, Afshin Rouhani, Darin Taylor, Paul Thomas, Doug Titus, Karen Uyeda, Jose Villareal, Mark Wander, Liang Xu, and Sarah Young.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no one present who wished to speak.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Ms. Lonnie Gross, and seconded by Hon. Joe Head, and unanimously carried to approve the minutes of the April 23, 2015, Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee meeting, as presented.

*Mr. Bill Hoeft arrived at 4:50 p.m.

*Marc Klemencic arrived at 4:56 p.m.

*Ms. Julie Hutcheson arrived at 4:58 p.m.

5. REVIEW AND DISCUSS COMMITTEE'S AUDIT REPORT FOR FISCAL YEAR 2013-2014, YEAR 1

Chair Sutherland opened the floor for review of the handouts received during the meeting. The Committee discussed their questions and concerns regarding Priorities A through E, other capital projects and project funding. Ms. Rechelle Blank, Ms. Debra Caldon, Ms. Norma Camacho, Ms. Jessica Collins, Ms. Vanessa De La Piedra, Mr. Shree Dharasker, Mr. Liang Lee, Director Gary Kremen, Mr. Darin Taylor, Ms. Melanie Richardson, Mr. Jose Villareal, and Ms. Sarah Young were available to answer questions.

Mr. Richard McMurtry of Santa Clara County Creeks Coalition spoke regarding this agenda item.

6. NEXT STEPS

Chair Sutherland advised the Committee that the next item to be completed is reviewing the final written report once the updated information is incorporated. Also, the approval of the final audit report to present to the Board. District staff will schedule the next meeting working with the Chair and advise the Committee.

Future items for discussion were: Presentation of the Valley Habitat Plan, invite District's Legal Counsel to discuss legal issues regarding the ballot measure and the SCW Program and tour of project sites.

7. REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF ACTION ITEMS

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there were no formal action items for Board consideration. However, she will send the Chair the Committee's action items via email to give ample time for the Committee Members to write their respective updates.

8. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Sutherland adjourned the meeting at 7:08 p.m.

Glenna Brambill
Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 6-10-15