

## SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM INDEPENDENT MONITORING COMMITTEE

# **MINUTES**

### **WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 2, 2015**

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee was held on December 2, 2015, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Ms. Kathleen Sutherland called the meeting to order at 4:04 p.m.

#### 2. ROLL CALL

Quorum was established with the following:

#### Members in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Representative</u>
District 1	Julie Hutcheson*	
District 2	Marc Klemencic*	Kathleen Sutherland
District 3	Lonnie Gross	
District 4	Debra Cauble	Hon. Joe Head
District 5	Bill Hoeft	Eileen McLaughlin
District 6	Hon. Dan McCorquodale	Hon. Patrick Kwok
District 7	Tess Byler	Kit Gordon
Current Board Chair	Jimmy Nguyen*	
Appointment		

Members not in attendance were:

JurisdictionRepresentativeDistrict 3Tony Santos

No Board members were in attendance.

Staff members in attendance were: Glenna Brambill, Debra Caldon, Jessica Collins, Shree Dharasker, Chris Elias, Juan Ledesma, Liang Lee, Katherine Oven, Melanie Richardson, Marynka Rojas, Jose Villarreal and Sarah Young.

<sup>\*</sup>Committee Members arrived as indicated below.

#### 3. PUBLIC COMMENT

Mr. Richard McMurtry of the Santa Clara County Creeks Coalition spoke on the homeless encampment issues.

Mr. Jose Villareal, District staff, invited the Committee to the District's ribbon cutting ceremony for the Stevens Creek-Evelyn Bridge Fish Passage Project on Thursday, December 10, 2015, from 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

\*Ms. Julie Hutcheson arrived at 4:07 p.m. and Mr. Marc Klemencic arrived at 4:12 p.m.

#### 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Ms. Tess Byler, and seconded by Ms. Julie Hutcheson, and unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the June 10, 2015, Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee meeting, with one correction, removing Ms. Kit Gordon's name under not in attendance.

\*Mr. Jimmy Nguyen arrived at 4:13 p.m.

#### 5. CHANGE MANAGEMENT PROCESS

Ms. Jessica Collins reviewed the change management process as outlined in the agenda. Ms. Katherine Oven was available to answer questions.

#### 6. REGULATORY PERMITTING UPDATE

Ms. Melanie Richardson presented the Committee with an update on the regulatory permitting as outlined in the agenda. There was a handout of the Legislative Guiding Principles distributed to the members.

Mr. Richard McMurtry of the Santa Clara County Creeks Coalition spoke on this agenda item.

## 7. VALLEY HABITAT PLAN

Ms. Debra Caldon introduced Mr. Edmund Sullivan, Executive Officer from Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency, who presented the Committee with an update on the Valley Habitat Plan as outlined in the agenda. There was a handout distributed to the members.

Hon. Dan McCorquodale left the meeting at 5:57 p.m. and did not return.

## 8. GRANTS

Ms. Sarah Young presented the Committee with an update on the grants as outlined in the agenda. Mr. Liang Lee was available to answer questions.

Mr. Richard McMurtry of the Santa Clara County Creeks Coalition spoke on this agenda item.

It was moved by Ms. Kit Gordon, seconded by Hon. Patrick Kwok and carried by majority vote with a no vote by Ms. Debra Cauble, to approve adding the review of planning grants to the next available meeting.

# 9. REVIEW AND ESTABLISH COMMITTEE'S AUDIT REPORT 2 SCHEDULE AND STRUCTURE

Chairperson Kathy Sutherland reviewed the proposed schedule. The Committee agreed by consensus to retain the subcommittee structure from last year and schedule the meetings as soon as possible.

Ms. Jessica Collins and Ms. Melanie Richardson were available to answer questions.

### 10. 2016 COMMITTEE CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR ELECTIONS

It was moved by Ms. Tess Byler, seconded by Ms. Debra Cauble to nominate Ms. Kathy Sutherland as 2016 Chair. It was moved by Ms. Kathy Sutherland, seconded by Ms. Debra Cauble to nominate Hon. Patrick Kwok as 2016 Vice Chair. The motions were unanimously carried to elect Ms. Kathy Sutherland and Hon. Patrick Kwok as the 2016 Committee Chair and Vice Chair respectively.

### 11. NEXT STEPS

Chairperson Sutherland wrapped up the meeting stating the subcommittee meetings will be scheduled in early January.

#### 12. REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF ACTION ITEMS

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there was one action item for consideration.

#### 13. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Sutherland adjourned the meeting at 6:27 p.m.

Glenna Brambill
Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 1-27-16