

SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM INDEPENDENT MONITORING COMMITTEE

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 27, 2021

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee was held on January 27, 2021.

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Kathleen (Kathy) Sutherland called the meeting to order at 4:34 p. m.

1.1. ROLL CALL

A quorum was established with 11 Members present.

Members in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Representative</u>
District 1	Susan Kazemi	
District 2	Kathleen Sutherland	Rosalinda Zepeda
District 3	Rolane Santos	Huy Tran
District 4	Hon. Jason Baker	Hon. Joe Head
District 5	Bill Hoeft	George Fohner
District 6	Hon. Patrick S. Kwok	-
District 7	Tess Byler	

Member not in attendance was:

<u>Jurisdiction</u> <u>Representative</u>

District 6 Hon. Dan McCorquodale

Board Members in attendance were: Directors Tony Estremera (Board Representative) and Director Gary Kremen (Board Alternate).

Staff members in attendance were: Aaron Baker, Lisa Bankosh, Wade Blackard, Rechelle Blank, John Bourgeois, Glenna Brambill, Rolando Bueno, Jennifer Codianne, Jessica Collins, Zooey Diggory, James Downing, Stephen Ferranti, Amy Fonseca, Meenakshi Ganjoo, Laura Garrison, Andrew Gschwind, Christopher Hakes, Todd Inman, Sunshine Julian, Karen Koppett, Jeannine Larabee, Juan Ledesma, Jennifer Martin, Judy Nam, Carmen Narayanan, Karl Neuman, Alec Nicholas, Afshin Rouhani, Kevin Sibley, Kirsten Struve, Ashley Taylor, Paul Thomas, Doug Titus, Sherilyn Tran, James Ujah, Damaris Villalobos Galindo, Jack Xu, Kristen Yasukawa, and Emily Zedler.

Public in attendance was: Jeffrey Hare.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Ms. Rosalinda Zepeda, seconded by Hon. Joe Head, and carried by roll call and majority vote, to approve the minutes of the December 2, 2020, Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee meeting as presented. Ms. Kathy Sutherland abstained.

4. OUTCOME OF SUBCOMMITTEE MEETINGS a. SUBCOMMITEE CHAIRS REPORT OUT ON KEY AREAS OF DISCUSSIONS AND

RECOMMENDATIONSChair Kathy Sutherland introduced each Subcommittee Chair who reported out on key areas of discussions and recommendations from the subcommittee meetings:

Mr. Bill Hoeft (Financial Subcommittee Chair) reported: No recommendations and reviewed the financial notes: 1. At the beginning of the financial appendices section, introduce a summary page that highlights what we are sharing with the community in these appendices and draws out some of the nuances. 2. In Appendix A-1: Annual Financial Summary Table, add 'budget adjustment' and 'carryforward' columns. 3. In Appendix A-2: Cumulative Financial Summary table, modify the header in the last column to reflect that the comparison is with the 15-Year Adjusted Plan. 4. In Appendix A-2.1: Currently Authorized Project Reserves table, modify headers to communicate more clearly.

Hon. Joe Head (Priority A and C Subcommittee Chair) reported: Projects are on target, no recommendations, however, for A2 bring back information on AMI effort.

Ms. Tess Byler (Priority B Subcommittee Chair) reported: Projects are on target, no recommendations except B4-Find solution to address the biohazard, especially feces/waste in the water, such as porta-potties or buckets to contain the waste.

Mr. George Fohner (Priority D Subcommittee Chair) reported: Projects are on target, no recommendations, but mentioned the following notes: D1-1. Provide link to qualitative assessments of acres maintained. These are the reports provided to regulatory agencies, 2. Add future projections to Graph D1.1: Acres of Annual Revegetation Maintenance. D3-Overall Grants Program, that the District should look at the workload to administer the grants and provide adequate staffing required to support the grants program. D5-Create shorter weblinks. D7-Upload the agreement with VHA on the webpage & check for broken links.

Mr. Huy Tran (Priority E and Other Subcommittee Chair) reported: Projects are on target, no recommendations but mentioned the following notes: E1-A graph or a chart showing the sources of funding, E3-Include information on how flood studies conducted under this project are used in other Valley Water projects. E5-Include in FY21 report the projection for the budget shortfall and some brief mentions of the strategy to address it. Permanente Creek Flood Protection San Francisco Bay to Foothill Expressway-\ Mountain View-When referencing the 5-Year Implementation Plan, identify the year range. Berryessa Creek Flood Protection Calaveras Boulevard to Interstate 680 – Milpitas and San José-Instead of projecting specific month for anticipated milestones, identify the fiscal year. Coyote Creek Flood Protection Montague Expressway to Tully Road – San José-A general note that when referencing 5-Year Implementation Plan, identify the year range. Calabazas Creek Flood Protection Miller Avenue to Wardell Road-the project was completed FY2014.

5. NEXT STEPS:

Chair Kathy Sutherland reviewed the agenda items below:

5a. January 28, 2021, IMC Report Drafting Meeting (IMC Chair and Subcommittee Chairs)

5b. February 10, 2021, Full Committee Meeting Report

i. Approve Final IMC Report

5c. February 23, 2021, IMC Chair presents Final IMC Report to Board

The Independent Monitoring Committee took no action.

6. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMITTEE REQUESTS.

The Independent Monitoring Committee took no action.

7. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Kathy Sutherland adjourned the meeting at 6:54 p.m. to the next scheduled meeting on Wednesday, February 10, 2021, at 4:00 p.m.

Glenna Brambill Board Committee Liaison Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 2-10-2021