

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 14, 2018

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee was held on February 14, 2018, in the Headquarters Building Conference Room A143 located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Kathleen Sutherland called the meeting to order at 4:09 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

A quorum was established.

Members in attendance were:

Jurisdiction	Representative	Representative
District 1	Julie Hutcheson	Doug Muirhead
District 2	Kathleen Sutherland	
District 3	Hon. Tara Martin-Milius*	
District 4	Debra Cauble	
District 5	Bill Hoeft	
District 6	Hon. Patrick S. Kwok	Hon. Dan McCorquodale
District 7	Tess Byler	Kit Gordon

Members not in attendance were:

Jurisdiction	Representative
District 3	Hon. Carmen Montano
District 4	Hon. Joe Head
District 5	Eileen McLaughlin

*Committee Member arrived as indicated below.

No Board Members in attendance.

Staff members in attendance were: Glenna Brambill, Debra Caldon, Jessica Collins, Vincent Gin, Christine Mateo, Brian Mendenhall, Ngoc Nguyen, Melanie Richardson, Afshin Rouhani, Sherilyn Tran and Kristen Yasukawa.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no one present who wished to speak.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES – JANUARY 24, 2018, MEETING

It was moved by Hon. Patrick S. Kwok and seconded by Ms. Kit Gordon and by majority vote carried to approve the minutes of the January 24, 2018, Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee meeting as presented. Ms. Debra Cauble abstained.

5. SANTA CLARA VALLEY OPEN SPACE AUTHORITY PRESENTATION ON MEASURE Q AND RELATED EFFORTS

Mr. Mark Landgraf from Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item

Hon. Patrick S. Kwok, Ms. Kit Gordon, Ms. Kathleen Sutherland, Mr. Doug Muirhead, Hon. Dan McCorquodale, Ms. Julie Hutcheson and Ms. Tess Byler had questions regarding the following: designated parcels, open space issues, farm (ag) land, funding, Ag Plan is a framework, governmental lands/shareholders, bridge project and One Water Plan,

*Hon. Tara Martin-Milius arrived at 4:47 p.m.

Mr. Brian Mendenhall was available to answer questions.

Send the Committee the links to the reports.

No action taken.

6. REPORT DRAFTING COMMITTEE REPORT A. APPROVE FINAL IMC REPORT

Chair Sutherland reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Ms. Kit Gordon, Ms. Julie Hutcheson, Ms. Tess Byler, Hon. Patrick S. Kwok, Mr. Bill Hoeft, Ms. Debra Cauble, Hon. Tara Martin-Milius, Hon. Dan McCorquodale gave input on wordsmithing, corrections, additions and deletions to be made on the report.

Mr. Ngoc Nguyen, Ms. Jessica Collins, Ms. Melanie Richardson, Mr. Afshin Rouhani and Mr. Vincent Gin were available to answer questions.

Ms. Debbie Cauble left at 6:06 p.m. and did not return.

Hon. Patrick S. Kwok left at 6:11 p.m. and did not return.

It was moved by Ms. Tess Byler, and seconded by Hon. Tara Martin-Milius and by Committee consensus, approved all noted changes for the final report.

7. 5-YEAR IMPLEMENTATION PLAN FOR FISCAL YEARS 2019-2023

Mr. Ngoc Nguyen and Ms. Jessica Collins presented the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Mr. Doug Muirhead, Ms. Tess Byler, Hon. Tara Martin-Milius spoke on the following items: clarification of asset management acronym reference needed to be corrected, 5-year external trigger, independent audit question and members were thanked for new member orientation "buddy system."

No action taken.

8. NEXT STEPS

A. FEBRUARY 27, 2018, IMC CHAIR PRESENTS FINAL IMC REPORT TO BOARD Chair Sutherland advised Committee that she would be make the final IMC Report to the Board.

9. REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF ACTION ITEMS

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there was one action item for consideration.

Agenda Item 6A: Through Committee consensus all noted changes for the final report were approved.

10. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Kathleen Sutherland adjourned the meeting at 6:41 p.m.

Glenna Brambill Board Committee Liaison Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 12-12-18