

SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM INDEPENDENT MONITORING COMMITTEE

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 12, 2018

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee was held on December 12, 2018, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Kathleen Sutherland called the meeting to order at 4:04 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

A quorum was established.

Members in attendance were:

<u>Jurisdiction</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Representative</u>
District 1	Julie Hutcheson	Doug Muirhead
District 2	Kathleen Sutherland	-
District 3	Hon. Tara Martin-Milius	Hon. Carmen Montano
District 4	Hon. Virginia Holtz	
District 5	Bill Hoeft*	Eileen McLaughlin
District 6	Hon. Patrick S. Kwok	Hon. Dan McCorquodale
District 7	Tess Byler	Kit Gordon

Member not in attendance was:

<u>Jurisdiction</u> <u>Representative</u>
District 4 Hon. Joe Head

No Board Members in attendance.

Staff members in attendance were: Lisa Bankosh, Rechelle Blank, Glenna Brambill, Jessica Collins, George Cook, Jerry De La Piedra, Vincent Gin, Chad Grande, Christopher Hakes, Brian Mendenhall, Atnasia Mengistu, Tracy Pena, Brenda Bravo-Ramirez, Melanie Richardson, Afshin Rouhani, Sue Tippets and Sherilyn Tran.

^{*}Committee Member arrived as indicated below.

^{*}Mr. Bill Hoeft arrived at 4:05 p.m.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR 3.1. ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

Chair Sutherland by Committee's unanimous vote moved this item to the end of the agenda.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

4.1 APPROVAL OF FEBRUARY 14, 2018, MEETING MINUTES

It was moved by Ms. Tess Byler and seconded by Mr. Doug Muirhead and by majority vote carried to approve the minutes of the February 14, 2018, Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Independent Monitoring Committee meeting as presented. Hon. Virginia Holtz and Ms. Eileen McLaughlin abstained.

5. IMC REQUESTED PRESENTATIONS:

5A. STATUS UPDATE ON NEW GRANTS MANAGEMENT SYSTEM

Ms. Sherilyn Tran reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item

Mr. Doug Muirhead, Ms. Eileen McLaughlin, Hon. Patrick S. Kwok, Ms. Tess Byler, Ms. Kit Gordon, Hon. Carmen Montano had questions regarding the following: training of applicants, ongoing Fluxx cycles-software-people, outreach plan, program proprietary-fees, where is funding coming from, how many have applied, technical assistance availability, categories and do applicants get to re-apply.

No action taken.

Chair Sutherland moved to Agenda Item 5D

5D. OUTCOME OF PUBLIC HEARING ON THE PROPOSED MODIFICATIONS TO PROJECT A2: SAFE, CLEAN WATER PARTNERSHIPS AND GRANTS (NITRATE TREATMENT SYSTEM REBATE PROGRAM); AND PROJECT E4: UPPER PENITENCIA CREEK FLOOD PROTECTION OF THE SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM

Ms. Jessica Collins reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item

Mr. Doug Muirhead, Hon. Carmen Montano Ms. Tess Byler, Ms. Kit Gordon and Hon. Dan McCorquodale, Ms. Kathy Sutherland and Ms. Eileen McLaughlin, had questions regarding the following: Program use, water wells, water-to-go, local funding, transfer funding from other projects,

Mr. George Cook, Ms. Melanie Richardson and Mr. Afshin Rouhani were available to answer questions.

No action taken.

Chair Sutherland moved to Agenda Item 5B.

5B. THE SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM'S (SAFE, CLEAN WATER PROGRAM) PROJECT B4 GOOD NEIGHBOR PROGRAM: ENCAMPMENT CLEANUP FUNDING PLAN TO ADDRESS THE FUNDING SHORTFALL

Ms. Jessica Collins reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Mr. Doug Muirhead, Hon. Carmen Montano Ms. Kit Gordon, Hon. Patrick Kwok, Hon. Virginia Holtz, Mr. Bill Hoeft, and Ms. Kathleen Sutherland had questions regarding the following: Program funding, insufficient staff, encampment cleanups and funding sources, prioritization of cleanups and have funds explained in the glossary.

Ms. Sue Tippets, Ms. Melanie Richardson and Mr. Chad Grande were available to answer questions.

No action taken.

5C. SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION 5-YEAR IMPLEMENTATION PLAN FOR FISCAL YEARS 2019 – 2023

Ms. Jessica Collins reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Ms. Tess Byler, Hon. Virginia Holtz, Mr. Doug Muirhead, Hon. Carmen Montano, Mr. Bill Hoeft, and Ms. Eileen McLaughlin had questions regarding the following: 5-year independent audit, streams cleaned, grants; partnerships—green streets and program funding,

No action taken.

6 REVIEW PROCESS AND SCHEDULE

6A/6B. SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM OVERVIEW AND INDEPENDENT MONITORING COMMITTEE REVIEW PROCESS AND SCHEDULE

Ms. Jessica Collins reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

It was moved by Ms. Kit Gordon, seconded by Ms. Tess Byler and unanimously carried to combine priorities A and C and retain the same review process and schedule.

7. NEXT STEPS

7A IMC REPORT ON THE FY 18 SCW ANNUAL REPORT FINALIZED BY DATE TO BE DETERMINED (STAFF SUGGESTED DATE IS FEBRUARY 15, 2019)
7B IMC CHAIR PRESENT IMC REPORT TO BOARD OF DIRECTORS ON DATE TO BE DETERMINED (STAFF SUGGESTED DATE IS FEBRUARY 26, 2019)

Ms. Jessica Collins reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

8. REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF ACTION ITEMS

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there was one action item for consideration.

Chair Sutherland returned to Agenda Item 3.1.

3.1 ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

Chair Sutherland opened the floor up for nominations:

Ms. Tess Byler and Hon. Patrick Kwok nominated Ms. Kit Gordon for Chair and she accepted with no other nominations. The Committee voted unanimously to have Ms. Kit Gordon for 2019 Chair.

Ms. Kit Gordon and Hon. Tara Martin-Milius nominated Mr. Doug Muirhead for Vice Chair and he accepted with no other nominations. The Committee voted unanimously to have Mr. Doug Muirhead for 2019 Vice Chair.

9. ADJOURNMENT

Outgoing Chair Kathleen Sutherland adjourned the meeting at 5:54 p.m.

Glenna Brambill
Board Committee Liaison
Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 1-23-19