

SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION MEETING

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 24, 2018 12:00 PM

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A rescheduled meeting of the Santa Clara Valley Water Commission (Commission) was held on January 24, 2018, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom, located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto called the meeting to order at 12:02 p.m.

Members in attendance were:

<u>Municipality</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Alternate</u>
City of Campbell	Hon. Susan M. Landry	
City of Cupertino		Hon. Steven Scharf
City of Los Altos	Hon. Lynette Lee Eng	
Town of Los Altos Hills	Hon. Courtenay Corrigan*	
Town of Los Gatos		Hon. Steve Leonardis
City of Milpitas		Tony Ndah
Town of Monte Sereno		Hon. Curtis Rogers
City of Mountain View	Hon. Lisa Matichak	
City of San José	Hon. Lan Diep*	
City of Santa Clara	Hon. Debi Davis	
City of Saratoga	Hon. Rishi Kumar	
City of Sunnyvale		Hon. Larry Klein
County of Santa Clara	Hon. Mike Wasserman	
Santa Clara Open Space Authority	Hon. Mike Flaugher	
Midpeninsula Regional Open Space	Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto	
District		

Members not in attendance were:

Municipality City of Campbell	Representative	Alternate Hon, Rich Waterman
City of Cupertino	Hon. Darcy Paul	rion. Rion waterman
City of Gilroy	Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz	Hon. Roland Velasco
City of Los Áltos		Hon. Mary Prochnow
Town of Los Gatos	Hon. Barbara Spector	•
City of Milpitas	Hon. Garry Barbadillo	
Town of Monte Sereno	Hon. Evert Wolsheimer	
City of Morgan Hill	Hon. Rich Constantine	Hon. Larry Carr
City of Mountain View		Hon. Pat Showalter
City of Palo Alto	Hon. Adrian Fine	Hon. Tom DuBois
City of San José		Kerrie Romanow
City of Santa Clara		Hon. Patrick Kolstad
City of Saratoga		Hon. Howard Miller
City of Sunnyvale	Hon. Nancy Smith	
County of Santa Clara		Hon. Cindy Chavez
Santa Clara Open Space Authority		Hon. Kalvin Gill
Midpeninsula Regional Open		Hon. Jed Cyr
Space District		

^{*}Commission Member arrived as noted.

Board members in attendance were: Director Richard P. Santos and Director John L. Varela, Board Representatives.

Staff members in attendance were: Glenna Brambill, Rick Callender, Norma Camacho, Raymond Fields, Nina Hawk, Marta Lugo, Anthony Mendiola, Paul Randhawa, and Darin Taylor.

2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON AGENDA

There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Hon. Mike Wasserman, seconded by Hon. Rishi Kumar, and unanimously carried, to approve the October 25, 2017, Santa Clara Valley Water Commission meeting minutes as presented.

4. ELECTION OF COMMISSION CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

Chair Yoriko Kishimoto opened the floor for Chair nominations: It was moved by Hon. Lisa Matichak, seconded by Hon. Lynette Lee Eng to nominate Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto as Chair.

It was moved by Hon. Steven Scharf, seconded by Hon. Mike Wasserman to nominate Hon. Rishi Kumar as Chair.

The nominations were closed. Both nominees spoke to the Commission on their experiences.

The Commission by majority vote, approved Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto as Chair for 2018.

*Hon. Courtenay Corrigan arrived at 12:11 p.m.

Chair Yoriko Kishimoto opened the floor for Vice Chair nominations: It was moved by Hon. Mike Wasserman, seconded by Hon. Susan M. Landry to nominate Hon. Debi Davis as Vice Chair.

It was moved by Hon. Steven Scharf, seconded by Hon. Steve Leonardis to nominate Hon. Rishi Kumar as Vice Chair.

The nominations were closed. Both nominees spoke to the Commission on their experiences.

The Commission by majority vote, approved Hon. Debi Davis as Vice Chair for 2018.

*Hon. Lan Diep arrived at 12:17 p.m.

5. ACTION ITEMS

5.1 REVIEW AND APPROVED 2017 ANNUAL ACCOMPLISHMENTS REPORT FOR PRESENTATION TO THE BOARD.

Chair Yoriko Kishimoto reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

It was moved by Hon. Mike Wasserman, seconded by Hon. Debi Davis, and unanimously carried, to approve the 2017 annual accomplishments report for presentation to the Board.

5.2 CIVIC ENGAGEMENT

Mr. Rick Callender introduced Ms. Marta Lugo who reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Hon. Lynette Lee Eng, Hon. Mike Flaugher, Hon. Debi Davis, Hon. Rishi Kumar, Hon. Susan M. Landry and Hon. Courtenay Corrigan spoke on the various programs, grants, outreach efforts and homeless issues noted under Civic Engagement.

Mr. Rick Callender and Director Richard P. Santos were available to answer questions.

No action taken.

5.3 REVIEW AND COMMENT TO THE BOARD ON THE FISCAL YEAR 2018-2019 PRELIMINARY GROUNDWATER PRODUCTION CHARGES

Mr. Darin Taylor reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item

Hon. Mike Wasserman, Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto, Hon. Mike Flaugher, Hon. Steve Scharf, Director John L. Varela, Director Richard P. Santos, Hon. Susan M. Landry, Hon. Larry Klein and Hon. Rishi Kumar, spoke on the preliminary groundwater production charges process, debt to service, water rates, water supply, drought and CA WaterFix.

Ms. Norma Camacho, Mr. Garth Hall and Director John L. Varela were available to answer questions.

No action taken.

5.4 REVIEW SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION WORK PLAN, THE OUTCOMES OF BOARD ACTION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS AND THE COMMISSION'S NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Ms. Glenna Brambill reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

No action was taken.

6. <u>INFORMATION ONLY ITEMS</u>

6.1 RECEIVE AN UPDATE ON THE DISTRICT'S WINTER PREPAREDNESS

Mr. Raymond Fields was available to answer questions on this agenda item.

Hon. Steve Leonardis left at 1:53 p.m. and did not return.

Hon. Mike Wasserman, Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto, Director John L. Varela and Hon. Mike Flaugher had clarifying questions on the District's Winter Preparedness.

The Commission would like to have this agenda item placed on their July or October meeting.

7. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS TO THE BOARD

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there were no items for Board consideration.

8. REPORTS

8.1 Director's Report

Director John L. Varela reported on the following:

- Board Action
- Water Supply
- Flood Protection
- Community Outreach

8.2 Manager's Report

Ms. Norma Camacho reported on the following:

 Resilience by Design Project will be contacting the Commissioners for their suggestions and input

Ms. Nina Hawk reported on the following:

- January 30, 2018, Water Supply Workshop, 1:00 p.m. 3:00 p.m. held at the District's Headquarters Boardroom
- February 1, 2018, Landscape Summit, 9:00 a.m., held at the District's Headquarters Boardroom

8.3 Commission Member Reports

The Commission has two new alternates:

- Mr. Tony Ndah, City of Milpitas
- Hon. Curtis Rogers, Town of Monte Sereno

Hon. Susan M. Landry reported on the following:

• Friday, February 9, 2018, City of Campbell's Youth Commission is having a job fair, contact Ms. Jenny Bybee, jennyb@cityofcampbell.com or 1-408-866-2778.

9. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto adjourned at 2:05 p.m. to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, April 11, 2018, at 12:00 p.m., in the Santa Clara Valley Water District Headquarters Boardroom.

Glenna Brambill
Board Committee Liaison
Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 4-11-18