

SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION MEETING

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 24, 2018 12:00 PM

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A regular meeting of the Santa Clara Valley Water Commission (Commission) was held on October 24, 2018, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom, located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Hon. Chair Yoriko Kishimoto called the meeting to order at 12:03 p.m.

Members in attendance were:

<u>Municipality</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Alternate</u>
City of Campbell	Hon. Susan M. Landry	
City of Cupertino		Timm Borden
City of Gilroy	Hon. Peter Leroe Muñoz*	
City of Los Altos	Hon. Lynette Lee Eng	
Town of Los Altos Hills	Hon. Courtenay Corrigan	
Town of Los Gatos	Hon. Barbara Spector	
City of Milpitas		Tony Ndah*
City of Mountain View	Hon. Lisa Matichak	
City of Palo Alto	Hon. Adrian Fine	
City of San José	Hon. Lan Diep*	
City of Santa Clara		Hon. Kathy Watanabe
City of Saratoga	Hon. Rishi Kumar*	
City of Sunnyvale	Hon. Nancy Smith	
Midpeninsula Regional Open Space	Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto	
District		

Members not in attendance were:

<u>Municipality</u>	Representative	<u>Alternate</u>
City of Campbell		Hon. Rich Waterman
City of Cupertino	Hon. Darcy Paul	Hon. Steven Scharf
City of Gilroy		Hon. Roland Velasco
City of Los Altos		Hon. Mary Prochnow
Town of Los Gatos		Hon. Steve Leonardis
City of Milpitas	Hon. Garry Barbadillo	
Town of Monte Sereno	Hon. Evert Wolsheimer	Hon. Curtis Rogers
City of Morgan Hill	Hon. Rich Constantine	Hon. Larry Carr
City of Mountain View		Hon. Pat Showalter
City of Palo Alto		Hon. Tom DuBois
City of San José		Kerrie Romanow
City of Santa Clara	Hon. Debi Davis	
City of Saratoga		Hon. Howard Miller
City of Sunnyvale		Hon. Larry Klein
County of Santa Clara	Hon. Mike Wasserman	Hon. Cindy Chavez
Santa Clara Open Space Authority	Hon. Mike Flaugher	Hon. Kalvin Gill
Midpeninsula Regional Open		Hon. Jed Cyr
Space District		

Board member in attendance was: Director Linda J. LeZotte, Board Representative.

Staff members in attendance were: Kurt Arends, Glenna Brambill, Jerry De La Piedra, Vincent Gin, Garth Hall, Nina Hawk, Clayton Leal, Lisa Porcella, Afshin Rouhani, James Webb and Stan Yamamoto.

Special Guests were: Professor Craig Criddle, Meg Giberson, Richard McMurtry, Doug Muirhead, Dave Poeschel, Jeff Provenzano, Dr. Jerry Smith and Stan Williams.

2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON AGENDA

There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Hon. Nancy Smith, seconded by Hon. Adrian Fine, and carried by majority vote, to approve the July 25, 2018, Santa Clara Valley Water Commission meeting minutes with the noted corrections. Hon. Debi Davis, Hon. Lynette Lee Eng, Hon. Courtenay Corrigan and Mr. Timm Borden abstained.

4. ACTION ITEMS

4.1 ECONOMICS AND SCIENCE OF RECYCLED WATER: STRATEGIES FOR COMMERICAL VIABILITY

Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto introduced guest speaker Professor Craig Criddle who reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item and a handout of his presentation was given to the Commissioners.

*Mr. Tony Ndah arrived at 12:07 p.m.

*Hon. Peter Leroe Muñoz and Hon. Rishi Kumar arrived at 12:11 p.m.

Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto, Hon. Lisa Matichak, Hon. Debi Davis, Hon. Nancy Smith, Hon. Susan Landry, Mr. Doug Muirhead and Hon. Courtenay Corrigan had questions on: the water rates, recycling costs in Singapore/Malaysia, Tool kit, marginal costs, nutrient pollution, timing/sequencing, 3 objectives, discharging into the Bay, end user with software tool kit, will this help integrate the Water District's goals/mission, satellite outputs and density of homes.

*Hon. Lan Diep arrived at 12:29 p.m.

No action was taken.

4.2 SALMONIDS IN THE DISTRICT WATERWAYS

Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto introduced guest speaker Dr. Jerry Smith who reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item and a handout of his presentation was given to the Commissioners.

Hon. Lan Diep left at 1:05 p.m. and did not return.

Hon. Rishi Kumar left at 1:07 p.m. and did not return.

Ms. Lisa Porcella and Mr. Clayton Leal also reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Mr. Vincent Gin, Mr. Kurt Arends and Ms. Nina Hawk were available to answer questions.

Mr. Dave Poeschel of the Sierra Club Loma Prieta Chapter and Mr. Richard McMurtry of Santa Clara County Creeks Coalition spoke on issues regarding this subject.

Hon. Susan Landry, Mr. Timm Borden, Hon. Debi Davis, Hon. Nancy Smith and Hon. Courtenay Corrigan had questions/concerns regarding the following issues: chart on fish size and relating to water per year-improvements to the creek, Stevens Creek Corridor Project, cool reservoir releases and fish passage, inviting outside agencies such as; Department of Fish and Game and NOAA Fisheries to speak to the Water Commission, displacement of native fish, balance resources and multi-jurisdictional issues to provide guidance.

No action was taken.

4.3 REVIEW SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION WORK PLAN, THE OUTCOMES OF BOARD ACTION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS AND THE COMMISSION'S NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Ms. Glenna Brambill and Chair Kishimoto reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

No action was taken.

5. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS TO THE BOARD

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there were no items for Board consideration.

6. REPORTS

6.1 Director's Report

None.

6.2 Manager's Report

Ms. Nina Hawk reported on the following:

*Potential future discussion on funding of Water Utility and associated costs.

6.3 Commission Member Reports

Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto reported on:

The Commission received the Trails and Waterways Summit 2018 brochure held on June 29, 2018.

7. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto adjourned at 2:01 p.m. to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, January 23, 2019, at 12:00 p.m., in the Santa Clara Valley Water District Headquarters Boardroom.

Glenna Brambill Board Committee Liaison Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 1-23-19