

SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION MEETING

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 25, 2017 12:00 PM

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A rescheduled meeting of the Santa Clara Valley Water Commission was held on January 25, 2017, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom, located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Vice Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto called the meeting to order at 12:05 p.m.

Members in attendance were:

<u>Municipality</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Alternate</u>
City of Campbell	Hon. Jeffrey Cristina	
City of Cupertino	Hon. Steve Schraf	
City of Gilroy	Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz	Hon. Roland Velasco
Town of Los Gatos	Hon. Barbara Spector	
City of Milpitas	Hon. Garry Barbadillo	
City of Monte Sereno	Hon. Evert Wolsheimer	
City of Morgan Hill	Hon. Rich Constantine	
City of Mountain View	Hon. Lenny Siegel	
City of Palo Alto	Hon. Adrian Fine	
City of San José	Hon. Lan Diep*	
City of Santa Clara	Hon. Debi Davis	
City of Saratoga	Hon. Rishi Kumar	
City of Sunnyvale		John Stufflebean
County of Santa Clara	Hon. Mike Wasserman	
Santa Clara Open Space	Hon. Mike Flaugher	
Authority		
Midpeninsula Regional	Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto	
Open Space District		

Members not in attendance were:

<u>Municipality</u>	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Alternate</u>
City of Campbell		Hon. Susan M. Landry
City of Cupertino		Hon. Darcy Paul
City of Los Altos	Hon. Lynette Lee Eng	Hon. Mary Prochnow
Town of Los Gatos		Hon. Steve Leonardis
City of Milpitas		Nina Hawk
City of Monte Sereno		Hon. Burton Craig
City of Morgan Hill		Hon. Larry Carr
City of Mountain View	Chris Clark	
City of Palo Alto		Hon. Tom DuBois
City of San José		Kerrie Romanow
City of Santa Clara		Hon. Patrick Kolstad
City of Saratoga		Hon. Howard Miller
County of Santa Clara		Hon. Cindy Chavez
Santa Clara Open Space		Hon. Kalvin Gill
Authority		
Midpeninsula Regional		Hon. Jed Cyr
Open Space District		

^{*}Commission Members arrived as noted.

Board members in attendance were: Director Barbara Keegan and Director John Varela, Board Representatives and Director Gary Kremen, Board Alternate.

Staff members in attendance were: Glenna Brambill, Norma Camacho, Jerry De La Piedra, Jim Fiedler, Rachael Gibson, Garth Hall, and Darin Taylor.

2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON AGENDA

There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Hon. Mike Wasserman, seconded by Hon. Debi Davis, and by majority vote carried, to approve the October 26, 2016, Santa Clara Valley Water Commission meeting minutes, as presented. There were five that abstained, Hon. Adrian Fine, Hon. Rishi Kumar, Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz, Hon. Lenny Siegel and Hon. Barbara Spector.

4. <u>ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR</u>

It was moved by Hon. Rishi Kumar, seconded by Hon. Barbara Spector, and unanimously carried to elect Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto as the Chair for 2017.

It was moved by Hon. Lenny Siegel, seconded by Hon. Mike Wasserman, and by majority vote, to elect Hon. Rishi Kumar as the Vice Chair for 2017. One nay vote by Hon. Jeffrey Cristina.

5. ACTION ITEMS

5.1 REVIEW AND APPROVE 2016 ANNUAL ACCOMPLISHMENTS REPORT FOR PRESENTATION TO THE BOARD

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto and Ms. Glenna Brambill reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

It was moved by Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz, seconded by Hon. Mike Wasserman, and unanimously carried to approve the 2016 Annual Accomplishments Report for presentation to the Board.

*Hon. Lan Diep arrived at 12:18 p.m.

5.2 WATER SUPPLY UPDATE AND DROUGHT RESPONSE

Mr. Garth Hall and Mr. Jerry De La Piedra reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Hon. Rishi Kumar, Hon. Mike Wasserman, Hon. Garry Barbadillo, Hon. Mike Flaugher, Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto, Hon. Rich Constantine, Hon. Lenny Siegel, spoke to this agenda item.

Mr. Jim Fiedler, Directors Barbara Keegan, Gary Kremen, John Varela and Mr. John Tang, of San Jose Water Company were available to answer questions.

No action was taken.

Mr. John Stufflebean left at 1:03 p.m. and did not return.

5.3 REVIEW AND COMMENT TO THE BOARD ON THE FISCAL YEAR 2018 PRELIMINARY GROUNDWATER PRODUCTION CHARGES

Mr. Darin Taylor reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Hon. Rishi Kumar, Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto, and Hon. Garry Barbadillo, spoke to this agenda item.

Ms. Norma Camacho, Mr. Jim Fiedler and Director Gary Kremen were available to answer questions.

No action was taken.

Hon. Mike Wasserman left at 1:44 p.m. and did not return.

5.4. REVIEW SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION WORK PLAN, THE OUTCOMES OF BOARD ACTION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS AND THE COMMISSION'S NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Ms. Glenna Brambill reviewed the material as outlined in the agenda item.

No action was taken.

6. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS TO THE BOARD

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there was one item for Board consideration.

The Committee approved the 2016 Annual Accomplishments Report for presentation to the Board.

7. REPORTS

7.1 Director's Report

Board Chair Director Barbara Keegan reported the following:

- Board Action
 - ❖ At the Board's January 24, 2017, meeting, Ms. Susan Stanton, was confirmed as the new Chief of Administration
- Water District News

7.2 Manager's Report

Interim CEO, Ms. Norma Camacho reported on the following item:

 Developing a water resources joint committee in south county to discuss current practices of groundwater management, recycled water opportunities policy discussions and homeless programs.

Hon. Rich Constantine left at 2:02 p.m. and did not return.

7.3 Commission Member Reports

None.

8. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto adjourned at 2:09 p.m. to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, April 12, 2017, at 12:00 p.m., in the Santa Clara Valley Water District Headquarters Boardroom.

Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 4-12-17