

SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION MEETING

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, APRIL 12, 2017 12:00 PM

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A rescheduled meeting of the Santa Clara Valley Water Commission was held on April 12, 2017, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom, located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto called the meeting to order at 12:05 p.m.

Members in attendance were:

<u>Municipality</u>	Representative	<u>Alternate</u>
City of Campbell		Hon. Susan M. Landry
City of Cupertino	Hon. Steven Scharf	
City of Gilroy	Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz*	Hon. Roland Velasco
Town of Los Altos Hills	Hon. Courtenay Corrigan*	
Town of Los Gatos		Hon. Steve Leonardis
City of Milpitas	Hon. Garry Barbadillo*	
City of Monte Sereno	Hon. Evert Wolsheimer	
City of Morgan Hill	Hon. Rich Constantine	
City of Mountain View	Hon. Lisa Matichak	
City of Palo Alto	Hon. Adrian Fine	
City of San José		
City of Santa Clara	Hon. Debi Davis	
City of Saratoga	Hon. Rishi Kumar	
City of Sunnyvale		Hon. Larry Klein
County of Santa Clara	Hon. Mike Wasserman	
Santa Clara Open Space	Hon. Mike Flaugher	
Authority		
Midpeninsula Regional	Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto	
Open Space District		

Members not in attendance were:

<u>Representative</u> Hon. Jeffrey Cristina	Alternate
2	Hon. Darcy Paul
Hon. Lynette Lee Eng	Hon. Mary Prochnow
Hon. Barbara Specior	Nina Hawk
	Hon. Burton Craig
	Hon. Larry Carr
	Hon. Lenny Siegel
	Hon. Tom DuBois
Hon. Lan Diep	Kerrie Romanow
	Hon. Patrick Kolstad
	Hon. Howard Miller
	Hon. Cindy Chavez
	Hon. Kalvin Gill
	Hon. Jed Cyr
	Hon. Jeffrey Cristina Hon. Lynette Lee Eng Hon. Barbara Spector

*Commission Members arrived as noted.

Board members in attendance were: Director Barbara Keegan and Director John L. Varela, Board Representatives.

Staff members in attendance were: Jennifer Abadilla, Kurt Arends, Glenna Brambill, Jerry De La Piedra, Jim Fiedler, Garth Hall, Tracy Hemmeter, Vicki Rolls-Elam and Darin Taylor.

2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON AGENDA

There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Hon. Mike Wasserman, seconded by Hon. Rishi Kumar, and unanimously carried, to approve the January 25, 2017, Santa Clara Valley Water Commission meeting minutes, with correction of attendees and Town of Monte Sereno to City of Monte Sereno.

*Hon. Garry Barbadillo arrived at 12:09 p.m. *Hon. Courtenay Corrigan arrived at 12:12 p.m.

4. ACTION ITEMS

4.1 REVIEW AND COMMENT TO THE BOARD ON THE FISCAL YEAR 2017-18 PROPOSED GROUNDWATER PRODUCTION CHARGES

Mr. Darin Taylor reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item. The Board Agenda Memorandum, Public Hearing information for April 11, 2017, and the Protection and Augmentation of Water Supplies (PAWS) Report were distributed.

Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto, Hon. Rishi Kumar, Hon. Mike Wasserman, Hon. Susan M. Landry, Hon. Courtenay Corrigan, Hon. Garry Barbadillo and Hon. Mike Flaugher spoke regarding the proposed groundwater production charges.

Mr. Jim Fiedler and Director Barbara Keegan were available to answer questions.

Commission action:

It was moved by Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto, seconded by Hon. Susan M. Landry and unanimously carried, to approve the recommendation that the Board consider devising an improved communication strategy to explain the reasons behind the increase of the FY 2017-2018 proposed groundwater charges and a reasonable outlook for the next ten years.

*Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz at 1:06 p.m.

4.2 PRESENTATION ON THE 2017 WATER SUPPLY MASTER PLAN UPDATE

Mr. Garth Hall introduced Ms. Tracy Hemmeter who reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Director Barbara Keegan, Hon. Susan M. Landry, Hon. Rich Constantine, Hon. Mike Flaugher, Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto, Hon. Garry Barbadillo, Hon. Lisa Matichak, Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz, Hon. Mike Wasserman and Hon. Steven Scharf spoke regarding the 2017 Water Supply Master Plan Update.

Mr. Jim Fiedler, Directors Barbara Keegan, Gary Kremen, John L. Varela and Mr. John Tang, of San Jose Water Company were available to answer questions.

No action was taken.

Hon. Steve Leonardis left at 1:45 p.m. and did not return.

4.3. REVIEW SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION WORK PLAN, THE OUTCOMES OF BOARD ACTION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS AND THE COMMISSION'S NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Ms. Glenna Brambill reviewed the material as outlined in the agenda item.

No action was taken.

5. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS TO THE BOARD

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there was one item for Board consideration.

Commission action:

The Commission approved recommending that the Board consider devising an improved communication strategy to explain the reasons behind the increase of the FY 2017-2018 proposed groundwater charges and a reasonable outlook for the next ten years.

6. **REPORTS**

6.1 Director's Report

Board Chair Director Barbara Keegan reported the following:

- Board Action
- Water District News
- Water Supply
- Flood Protection
- Community Outreach

6.2 Manager's Report

Mr. Jim Fiedler advised the Commission that this was his last meeting as he will be retired before the July meeting.

6.3 Commission Member Reports

None.

7. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto adjourned at 2:01 p.m. to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, July 26, 2017, at 12:00 p.m., in the Santa Clara Valley Water District Headquarters Boardroom.

Glenna Brambill Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 7-26-17