

SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION MEETING

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, JULY 26, 2017 12:00 PM

(Paragraph numbers coincide with agenda item numbers)

A rescheduled meeting of the Santa Clara Valley Water Commission was held on July 26, 2017, in the Headquarters Building Boardroom, located at the Santa Clara Valley Water District, 5700 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, California.

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto called the meeting to order at 12:04 p.m.

Members in attendance were:

<u>Municipality</u> City of Campbell City of Cupertino City of Gilroy City of Los Altos	<u>Representative</u> Hon. Jeffrey Cristina Hon. Steven Scharf Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz Hon. Lynette Lee Eng	<u>Alternate</u>
Town of Los Gatos		Hon. Steve Leonardis
City of Morgan Hill	Hon. Rich Constantine	
City of Mountain View	Hon. Lisa Matichak	
City of San José		Kerrie Romanow
City of Santa Clara	Hon. Debi Davis	
City of Saratoga	Hon. Rishi Kumar*	
City of Sunnyvale	Hon. Nancy Smith	
County of Santa Clara	Hon. Mike Wasserman	
Santa Clara Open Space		
Authority		
Midpeninsula Regional	Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto	
Open Space District		

Members not in attendance were:

<u>Municipality</u> City of Campbell City of Cupertino City of Gilroy City of Los Altos Town of Los Altos Hills Town of Los Gatos	Representative Hon. Courtenay Corrigan Hon. Barbara Spector	<u>Alternate</u> Hon. Susan M. Landry Hon. Darcy Paul Hon. Roland Velasco Hon. Mary Prochnow
City of Milpitas	Hon. Garry Barbadillo	Nina Hawk
Town of Monte Sereno City of Morgan Hill City of Mountain View	Hon. Evert Wolsheimer	Hon. Burton Craig Hon. Larry Carr Hon. Lenny Siegel
City of Palo Alto	Hon. Adrian Fine	Hon. Tom DuBois
City of San José	Hon. Lan Diep	
City of Santa Clara		Hon. Patrick Kolstad
City of Saratoga		Hon. Howard Miller
City of Sunnyvale		Hon. Larry Klein
County of Santa Clara	Llen Miles Elevenhen	Hon. Cindy Chavez
Santa Clara Open Space	Hon. Mike Flaugher	Hon. Kalvin Gill
Authority Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District		Hon. Jed Cyr

*Commission Member arrived as noted.

Board members in attendance were: Director Barbara Keegan and Director John L. Varela, Board Representatives.

Staff members in attendance were: Kurt Arends, Glenna Brambill, Jerry De La Piedra, Vincent Gin, Marty Grimes, Brian Hopper, Katherine Oven, Paul Randhawa, Vicki Rolls-Elam, Afshin Rouhani, Charlene Sun, Jose Villarreal, Kristen Yasukawa, and Sarah Young.

*Hon. Rishi Kumar arrived at 12:07 p.m.

2. TIME OPEN FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY ITEM NOT ON AGENDA

There was no one present who wished to speak.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Hon. Rich Constantine, seconded by Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz, and by majority vote, to approve the April 12, 2017, Santa Clara Valley Water Commission meeting minutes as presented. Hon. Lynette Lee Eng abstained.

4. ACTION ITEMS

4.1 SOCIALLY RESPONSIBLE INVESTMENT POLICY

Mr. Charlene Sun reviewed the materials as outlined in the agenda item.

Hon. Peter Leroe Muñoz, Hon. Lisa Matichak, Hon. Rich Constantine, Hon. Jeff Cristina, Hon. Mike Wasserman, Ms. Kerrie Romanow, Hon. Nancy Smith, and Hon. Rishi Kumar, spoke regarding the multi facets of the socially responsible investment policy.

No action was taken.

4.2 SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER DISTRICT COMMUNICATIONS AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT PROGRAM UPDATE

Mr. Marty Grimes and Jose Villarreal reviewed the materials as outlined.

Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz, Hon. Steven Scharf, Hon. Nancy Smith, Hon. Rishi Kumar, Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto and Director John L. Varela spoke regarding the Water District's Communications and Community Engagement Programs.

No action was taken.

4.3 BOARD FEEDBACK ON THE SAFE, CLEAN WATER AND NATURAL FLOOD PROTECTION PROGRAM

Ms. Jessica Collins reviewed the materials as outlined.

Hon. Rich Constantine, Director Barbara Keegan, Hon. Nancy Smith, Hon. Rishi Kumar, Director John L. Varela and Hon. Steven Scharf spoke regarding the various projects of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program.

Mr. Vincent Gin and Mr. Afshin Rouhani were available to answer questions.

No action was taken.

Hon. Mike Wasserman left at 1:00 p.m. and did not return.

Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz left at 1:00 p.m.

4.4 ONE WATER PLAN – JULY 2017 UPDATE

Mr. Afshin Rouhani reviewed the materials as outlined.

Hon. Jeff Cristina left at 1:04 p.m.

Director Barbara Keegan, Hon. Debi Davis, Hon. Lynette Lee Eng, Hon. Nancy Smith and Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto spoke regarding the issues of the One Water Plan.

No action was taken.

Chair Yoriko Kishimoto moved to Agenda Item 4.6 **4.6 UPDATE ON PLANNING FOR POTABLE AND NON-POTABLE WATER REUSE** Chair Yoriko asked to move agenda item to October 25, 2017, meeting.

4.5 UPDATE ON THE FISH AND AQUATIC HABITAT COLLABORATIVE EFFORT (FAHCE)

Mr. Vincent Gin reviewed the materials as outlined.

Hon. Peter Leroe-Muñoz returned at 1:26 p.m.

Dr. Richard Lanman, a special guest, spoke on the Historical Ecology of Santa Clara County.

Hon. Rishi Kumar left at 1:37 p.m. and did not return.

Director Barbara Keegan, Hon. Nancy Smith, Hon. Steven Scharf, Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto spoke on the Fish and Aquatic Habitat Collaborative efforts.

No action was taken.

Ms. Kerrie Romanow left at 1:48 p.m. and did not return.

4.7. REVIEW SANTA CLARA VALLEY WATER COMMISSION WORK PLAN, THE OUTCOMES OF BOARD ACTION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS AND THE COMMISSION'S NEXT MEETING AGENDA

Ms. Glenna Brambill reviewed the material as outlined in the agenda item and had the Board Committee Handbook for anyone wishing one.

No action was taken.

5. CLERK REVIEW AND CLARIFICATION OF COMMISSION REQUESTS TO THE BOARD

Ms. Glenna Brambill reported there were no items for Board consideration.

6. **REPORTS**

6.1 Director's Report

None.

6.2 Manager's Report

- Mr. Jerry De La Piedra acting Deputy Operating Officer reported on the following:
 - > On August 22, 2017, there will be a Board meeting on the Ca WaterFix

6.3 Commission Member Reports

Ms. Glenna Brambil, Water Commission Liaison reported:

Past Water Commissioner and City of Santa Clara Council Member, Hon. Jerry Marsalli had passed May 13, 2017, from a long-term illness.

7. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Hon. Yoriko Kishimoto adjourned in memory of Hon. Jerry Marsalli, at 1:55 p.m. to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, October 25, 2017, at 12:00 p.m., in the Santa Clara Valley Water District Headquarters Boardroom.

Glenna Brambill Office of the Clerk of the Board

Approved: 10-25-17