Alert 10/21/21 | 4:12 PM: Santa Clara County remains in a drought emergency, despite the rain. Learn more
FYI 10/20/21 | 12:20 PM: Mobile COVID-19 testing bus at Valley Water Wednesdays until end of November Learn more
Protect & Restore
Stewards of creeks, the bay, and aquatic ecosystems
Project Updates
Page Title
Project Updates
Back to top

Renewed Safe, Clean Water & Natural Flood Protection: Independent Monitoring Committee


Voters overwhelmingly approve Measure S, a renewal of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program

In November 2020, voters in Santa Clara County overwhelmingly approved Measure S, a renewal of Valley Water’s Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program (Safe, Clean Water Program) that was approved in 2012. The measure needed 66.67% to pass and garnered more than 75% of votes at the November 2020 election. The renewed Safe, Clean Water Program identifies six key community priorities, established in collaboration with tens of thousands of residents and stakeholders. Details on the renewed Safe, Clean Water Program can be found in the Renewed Safe, Clean Water program document. The renewed Safe, Clean Water program became effective on July 1, 2021 (FY2021-22), and replaced the 2012 program.

To ensure transparency and accountability to the voters, the ballot measure also created an Independent Monitoring Committee, appointed by the Santa Clara Valley Water District Board of Directors. The Renewed Independent Monitoring Committee will annually review the program’s progress to ensure the outcomes are achieved in a cost-efficient manner and reports its findings to the Board.

Board Representatives:
Director Tony Estremera, Chairperson, District 6
Director Gary Kremen, District 7

Committee Liaison:
Melanie Richardson, Assistant Chief Executive Officer
Office of Integrated Water Management

Committee Members:

Jurisdiction Member Name Term
District 1 Marc Rauser 3 year
District 2 Kathleen Sutherland 2 year
District 3 Will Ector
Jean Marlowe
2  year
3 year
District 4 Hon. Barbara Spector
Hon. Jason Baker
2  year
3  year
District 5 Bill Hoeft
George Fohner
2 year
3 year
District 6 Andres Quintero
Hon. Patrick S. Kwok
2 year
3 year
District 7 Cari Templeton
Forest Peterson, Ph.D.
2 year
3 year

Interested parties may apply to serve on the committee by submitting a complete Committee Application to the Office of the Clerk of the Board.

Meeting Information:
The Committee meets at a date and time determined by the Committee Chair.  All meetings are open to the public.  Meeting dates, times and locations are subject to change.  Please refer to the published agenda for date, time and location of next meeting.

Date Agenda Minutes Handouts
May 5, 2021, via Zoom Agenda Minutes Handout

For technical information and copies of reports, please contact Meenakshi Ganjoo at (408) 630-2295. 

For application and other additional information, please contact Glenna Brambill in the Office of the Clerk of the Board at (408) 630-2408.