Alert 12/1/22 | 1:21 PM: Turn off your sprinklers during and after rainfall. Learn more
How We Operate
Providing safe, clean water for a healthy life, environment and economy
How we operate header image
Page Title
How We Operate
Back to top

John L. Varela, District 1


2022 Board Chair Pro Tem

Re-elected:  November 2018
Term Expires:  December 2022


Board Committees:

Board Advisory Committees:

Joint Committees:

Staff Committees:

  • Santa Clara County Water Retailers

External Committees: 

District 1 encompasses the cities of Gilroy, Morgan Hill, the unincorporated community of San Martin, and parts of East and South San Jose. Communities and neighborhoods include San Jose’s Alum Rock, East Foothills, Evergreen, Silver Creek, and Edenvale north of Monterey Road. Other landmarks include Evergreen Valley College and Gavilan College. Watersheds in District 1 include Coyote (East Zone) and Uvas/Llagas (South Zone).

Correspondence to the Santa Clara Valley Water District Board Members may be sent via e-mail to: [email protected].

Director Varela may also be contacted by email at: [email protected].

District 1 Detailed Map
Director Varela's Biography

Training Certificates:

2020 Ethics Training Certificate
2018 Ethics Training Certificate

2021 Non-Harassment and Discrimination Training (AB1825)
2019 Non-Harassment and Discrimination Training (AB1825)

Expense Reports:
FY2022 Q3
FY2022 Q2
FY2022 Q1
FY2021 Q4
FY2021 Q3
FY2021 Q2
FY2021 Q1
FY2020 Q4
FY2020 Q3
FY2020 Q2
FY2020 Q1